Posted in mommyhood

Car rider confessions

I don’t know about you, but getting three kids awake, dressed, fed and out the door to be on time for school is a little more than challenging. One would think that once you are in the car then all is well! Uggh well not in this house.

I have to get 2yo in the car first. Him and all of his stuff. that equates to two mickies and one blanket! But not just any blanket, the blanket! It’s his crib blanket that he has grown quite attached to! This kid couldn’t just pick a nice small baby blanket could he? No, he had to pick the biggest must fluffiest blanket to carry and I have to figure out some way to wrap my arms around his blanket all those damn mickey mouse toys as well as him, to carry him to the car all without dropping him.

Next is 7yo, she is older and  a little easier to handle. so we just walk to the car together. I like that, ease peasy as she would say.

Next is 5yo who happens to also be the most stubborn child on the planet. I must wait patiently for her to pick which toys to take to preschool and load them into her backpack. Never mind that I have already put it in the car, I must go back and get it out of the car and bring it back to the house or we will have a category meltdown, and in those still famous words ain’t nobody got time for that! So next we brush hair and go to the car,  get her buckled and oh yes, we need to potty now and hell hath no fury like a child who needs to potty! so back in the house we go!

Finally we are done, and back into the car! Just as I am pulling out of the drive way 5yo begins to cry because she wants a blanket, because she is cold. Why you ask? Because she refuses to wear any damn pants to cover her legs. You think I’m kidding, she only wears dresses and skirts and refuses to wear socks. Oy this kid is stubborn.

Okay so now that I have one crying kid, 7yo decides to ask me about her fundraiser packet! Thanks public school for that one, and since we do not participate in those I told her we did not put in her backpack. you would thin I had told her the dog dies because that child began to cry like there was no tomorrow. she’s a bit sensitive this one. I refer to it as in tuned with her emotions. anyhoo, all I kept hearing between sobbing mumbles was that she was going to be the only kid who doesn’t get a prize! Well, shit I will take you to the dollar store geez!

Next it’s 2yo who decides to start wailing that his eyes hurt! eyes hurt momma, eyes hurt!  I had to take off my sunglasses to hand over so he would stop, or so I thought!  Here I am, can’t see and that kid starts wailing again, His stupid blanket fell to the ground, so blindly I try to find it while driving, and can’t see because he has my sunglasses. don’t you want to be on the road with me now! I find the blanket and then Mickey #1 falls and crying begins again.

That’s it I resign and let him continue to cry. Once all three kids are dropped off, all I peaceful again. Whew! I’m exhausted before the day has even began and now I need some coffee! Starbucks here I come!  Am I the only one? Please tell me your car rider stories before I feel like a complete failure as a parent lol!

car rider pic

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

17 thoughts on “Car rider confessions

  1. Lol thanks for sharing this was so funny (sorry Im getting humor at your expense) I just have the one and from this story I’m counting my blessings. I feel for you giving you hugs!!

    1. well.. I laughed in the car too, so I guess that makes us both cruel lol! She is such a sweet soul and where once she was vey sassy she is now very sensitive and wears her emotions on her sleeve. Challenging is definitely the right word as I am having trouble dealing with such a sensitive nature, her mother is not so sensitive so I think god has a sense of humor all right 😉

  2. Ah yes – if there was one part of my day I could avoid it would be our morning routine and the rush to get out of the house on time. Just getting to the car is a challenge for us. This resonated – you are not alone – thanks!

  3. This was a little walk down memory lane for me. Our youngest–at the age of about 2, always carried around a blanket. He also had to get in the car and the car seat by himself. If I picked him up and put him in the seat, a major fit would ensue. It was easier to plan for the extra few minutes and let him do his thing. Better than putting him in the car, he throws a fit, gets out of the car, and then seats himself….all was well. It gets better when they are teens and you have to taxi them around. Keeping my mouth shut was the best thing I did…I learned far more about them when they interacted between each other and friends. That is, if I could even get them out of bed without a bunch of nagging.

Leave a Reply

