Posted in Ten Things of Thankful

TTOT – getting back in the game

thankful

I haven’t posted a TTOT post in a while. If I’m being honest I haven’t been blogging much either. maybe it’s the stress of the job hunt or plain old burnout but I’m ready to get back in the game.

My English class has proven to be more demanding than I thought an online English class would be, so the fact that I have been off work these two months has helped in that perspective ( Thankful #1)

The tension in my shoulders and neck have proven to be most unbearable so I have started doing some yoga again. I’m only a beginner but it has helped relieve some of the pressure and that will keep me from the chiropractor since I do not have insurance right now it’s not a feasible expense. (Thankful #2)

I have received the official phone call and if all goes well I will be starting my new job in two weeks! EEK I am so nervous, excited and relieved. I plan on making the best use of my last two weeks home. ( Thankful #3)

This time with my kids have been amazing, except when they go to school and I am at home by myself all day. I have been able to listen to them, not feel rushed and just support them in ways I don’t think I allowed time for previously. I am thankful for this time and new perspective ( Thankful #4)

We do not owe as much as we thought on taxes this year so that is amazing! The hubby self contracts so unfortunately taxes are not taken out with each pay check so the unfortunate thing there is we owe every year. We have decided to plan better this year and start saving ahead of time to relieve that burden in the future ( Thankful #5)

We managed to have on sunny day and were able to take the kids to the park with some dear friends. It was so great to see kids just playing and having fun. The sunshine helps too. We have had rain ever since but today should be decent and are planning to go to a local carnival with those same friends. The girls talk about this carnival every year and I am excited that despite financial concerns we are just going toΒ take them. ( Thankful #6)

Tomorrow is the anniversary and will be celebrating eleven years together. We have been through so much in just eleven years but have always madeΒ it through to the other side. ( Thankful #7)

I don’t typically watch t.v. in the daytime but decided to watch Meredith yesterday afternoon. She says if you believe you can do something then who cares if one person thinks that you cannot not. prove them wrong. Its’ funny how I have always believed in myself but allowed recent events bring me down. Maybe it’s adulthood and the fact that we stop believing in magic as we get older and by association I think stop believing in ourselves. But watching that, must have been Kismet because it has renewed a fire inside of me that I let blow out a long time ago. I am thankful for my newfound perspective and believe I can do what I set my mind to! ( Thankful #8)

Okay, so that’s like eight thankfuls but that last one is ten wrapped in one so I think we can call it even. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and remember the only person that can make you feel inferior is yourself.

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

22 thoughts on “TTOT – getting back in the game

  1. I’m glad you’re back. This is a fantastic article and relevant for me to read in my own life right now.

    – Although I was away from my blog, the timing was right to return because I was able to help a fellow blogger (Thankful #9)
    – I didn’t even remember it when I sat down to write but now I now I e recall that every day is a mystery and a joy. (Thankful #10)

    1. Aww you are sweet and I am so glad this post has helped you! I myself will have to remember to look back at this day as a constant reminder πŸ™‚

  2. Enjoy your next two weeks! It is good to see the positive in a challenging time. Hopefully, you will look back on this and think it was the best thing to have happened. I have a little nagging voice that I am trying to trample about a new job opportunity. I was just working on the post last night

  3. So glad to see you back! Congrats on the new job. I know it will be an adjustment for you and the kids but it sounds like it will be good for you and your family (and hopefully it offers insurance). I recently had surgery and I’m really looking forward to being recovered enough to start learning some yoga. I’m looking forward to following your transition back to the workforce – I hope you’ll blog about it.

    1. Thanks! I will definitely blog about it and it will offer insurance, this has been the first time we have not had it and it is helping to remind me why individuals do not have insurance. The cobra insurance would have been 1800 dollars a month for our family which is insane! Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. Congrats on the new job. And the power of magic is a powerful one. I remember writing a paper in college about how I want to raise my children to believe in magic because there is something in it that makes life more mystical, makes things out of reach seem doable, and make us happy…I got a 50 because it was too wordy (my only failing essay ever), but how can you describe the magic in life without the intricacy of beautiful words? Thank you for the reminder, sometimes now in momhood I lose sight of that.

    1. lol I just got a 76 on my paper because it was too wordy! I didn’t think you could be too wordy I an English class! Thanks for reading an commenting πŸ™‚

      1. haha that one followed a 60 that I didn’t have enough detail. So for my final paper (which I never new the final grade. I just literal drew pictures. I was a bit of a smartelic. πŸ˜‰ I don’t know what I made on the final paper, but I do now I did somehow pass the class.

  5. Happy anniversary and yay about the taxes. We are self employed here and it’s always a scramble for cash around tax time, no matter how much we plan. What works for us is I take a paycheck equal to what we estimate and then it gets recycled back into the business. It works well in theory and I think it worked well for a year or two. Good luck in your new job and enjoy those last two weeks with the kids.

  6. Welcome back to the TToT, April!
    I completely get your #4 here – it’s pretty awesome. Good luck with the new job, too! Can’t wait to hear all about your new adventure and your transition to this new phase of life!

  7. Yeah to numbers 9 and 10! Live by that! Also I might add if you can visualize yourself succeeding in it you are more likely to be relaxed and able to do just that! Good luck in the new job!

  8. Hope you had a gorgeous anniversary. Eleven years is awesome!

    I’m glad you’ve had a little good weather and the chance to get out and about with your friends and all the children together. That carnival sounds like a high point in their life, so it would have been a shame to miss it πŸ™‚

    1. They had an awesome time! It’s amazing the magic that comes with being around little ones. To be able to see from their perspective is truly a gift πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

