Posted in mommyhood

I miss you Goodnight Moon

wpid-2015-03-04_17.22.43.jpg

Last night was the school’s family shopping night at the book fair. Since we love to read of course I showed with way too much money to spend on books! We had to, right? Anyhoo once we got home with our fun loot Duckling #1 (7yo) immediately sat down on my lap and she read her first of three books.

I haven’t held y 7yo in quite some time as she has grown quite independent so this was a very special moment in which she was feeling very loving. It’s amazing how one moment can bring such happiness and sadness at the same time. I was happy that she could read that book all by herself yet sad that I do not get to read to her like a baby anymore.

From the day we brought our children home we have cuddled and read them stories like Little Nut brown hare and goodnight moon. We have been lost in stories and the fantasy that we get to live in with our little ones. As a mom you prepare yourself to miss certain milestones. You miss the wayΒ your then 2yoΒ says yee yee for the word monkey or the way that same child waves with their hand turned backwards. There is honestly one milestone that I did not prepare myself to miss. That would be the one in which my kids needed me to read to them.

Duckling #1 reads at a fourth grade level and it is amazing how fast she has learned. This girl loves books and often walks into school with her nose in one. So at first grade she is quite the independent reader leaving her mom missing those snuggly nights in which we would read her favorite good night moon!

So last night as she sat on my lap with a book she was reading I breathed it all in. The scent of her hair, the sound of her voice as she was reading about Eva the owl. The familiarity of her sitting in my lap even though over the course of seven years she is far from the 6 pound baby that I brought home.

I remembered cuddling her in her yellow glider that I had custom-made and still graces the room of my son. Stories like If you take a mouse to the movies and I love you through and through came so vividly in my head as they were also some of her favorites. I remembered her laugh and the way we would spend all day playing on the floor without a careΒ in the world. When you have one child there is more time to do that I guess.

I may not have much more days of her sitting in my lap, so today I took it all in. She is growing at warp speed and I suspect she will surpass me in height within two years time if not sooner. My husband is 6’3″ so this is not far-fetched. Today I have my little girl but in the blink of an eye I will have a young lady. So for now as I sit here with my child reading to herself I am missing Goodnight Moon!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

32 thoughts on “I miss you Goodnight Moon

  1. So hard to say goodbye to each of those special moments as they grow. Take heart, though – now you can start having read aloud time! I read every evening with our three until they were in high school and too busy with homework. More great memories!

  2. So sweet. I understand on so many levels, too.

    My son still lets me read to him sometimes, but he’s an advanced reader as well and often wants to read on his own. 😦

    He’s also pretty tall — comes up to my armpits at 5 1/2 years old. It’s only a matter of time before he’s towering over me.

    So exciting for them. So hard for us.

  3. Beautiful April! We have done the exact same thing with our little one, who has a love for books and can send for a long time reading to herself (well pretend reading) and insisting we read everything.

  4. Son2 always reads to one of us each night, but son1 hardly ever does. He prefers reading to himself now, even though school will award him a merit mark for reading out loud 3 times a week

  5. This made me shed a happy tear. My 13 year old has not wanted me to read to her for many years (although a few years ago I began reading all the books she reads at school and independently so we could talk about them – it has given me a new appreciation for good YA novels!), but I remember those many nights reading Goodnight Moon, the Peter Rabbit books and Shel Silverstein’s poetry to her with great affection!

  6. Good isn’t Moon was one of my favorites too! I also miss certain bedtime songs and the way boy #1 called me “Mom-mom”. Sweet memories. Thank you for sharing!!

  7. OH, I love this…I know this. I have such an independent little spirit and such an independent reader on my hands. We still read together, but usually it is her reading to me, which is wonderful but not the same. We passed our glider on to a family friend who had a new baby and I’m happy that it has a good home. Would I love to have saved it? Sure. But the two of us don’t exactly fit comfortably any more and I’d rather think about that new mom and her babe reading and rocking. I’m OK with that.
    I will take any time I can grab for a read together or a snuggle because all too soon they grow up. Loved this. Need to go kiss that little face again now.

    1. Aww I know right! My 5yo still wants me to pick her up and carry her at times and my mom always tells me to stop carrying her around. My response now is one day I will set her down and never pick her up again, so for now if she needs me to carry her once in awhile who am I to say no… they grow way too fast!

  8. Gah. I’m feeling especially emotional this week (as you know!) and this one struck a chord with me. I’ve been trying to really soak up my son while he’s still an only child for the next few months, but I find myself already looking back on milestones that have passed and wondering how it is that he grew up without my noticing. I know in the blink of an eye he’ll be a 7 year old reading those stories to me like your daughter does now with you. Great reminder to me to cherish this phase of him being small while I can πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

