Posted in mommyhood

When we were young

wpid-tumblr_m55ndhgry21r3y3iro1_500.jpg

Wednesdays are the girls Ballet days and I always enjoy taking them. This past Wednesday was no different and we decided to go to Chick Fil A for some dinner.  the girls enjoy the playground after and I like to watch them have fun while being able to relax.

They usually make some new friends on the playground and this time there were two little boys that were about the same age as my little ducklings. Immediately they began to play dragons and I couldn’t help but giggle as they were the bad dragons and the cop dragons. Cops and robbers with a twist I like it!

Then I began to marvel at the innocence of these young little kids. Watching them in all their glory without a care in the world. The  younger of the two boys began to ask the normal questions like hey, how old are you and that type of stuff. It was getting close to bedtime and my oldest answered his questions and told him that she was seven years old. Then suddenly as if it dawned on him that it was getting late he says ” Don’t you have homework to do?”

Ahhh there it is folks. That pure innocence I was talking about. Do you remember when life was simple and care free. Remember when the biggest problem in our lives was just whether or not we completed our math assignment? You before bills, kids, marriage and that whole responsibility fiasco that we thought we wanted when we were young.

If I had one wish for my kids it would be for them to remain kids for as long as possible. I see too many pre teens and teenagers trying to be adults and you just want to say, be a kid! it’s a good thing! Act like a kid, it’s kind of fun!

In the event my children one day read my blog, I will tell them this. Enjoy being young and carefree. This time is special and do not be in a hurry to grow up. The world of responsibility, stress and  chaos will await you when you are a true adult. If you can hang on to these years a little longer then do it. Don’t worry so much about tomorrow. It’s not going anywhere and is definitely not guaranteed.

Don’t waste your time on being what you think people want you to be. Be who you are and to hell with anyone who says it’s not good enough. If you don’t want to do something then don’t. If you do then do. Unless I tell you to do something, then do it because I’m your mom and my rules stick.

The world awaits you and you can do it all and be it all.  Remember that you have many years before you need to grow up and now is not that time. Unless you are thirty , reading this and still living in my house. Then it is time to grow the hell up and get out of my house. No please, please get out.

Most importantly know that I love you no mater what and will always be here for you. You will always be that little baby that I once held in my arms and rocked to sleep.

Do you remember what it was like to be young an innocent? Remember when we only had to worry about whether or not our crush liked us back? You know back when we were young?

 

follow me on facebook 🙂 https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

3 thoughts on “When we were young

  1. Truer words have never been spoken. Kids are in too much of a hurry to grow up these days and here we are wishing we could go back to the carefree days of childhood. Life is funny.. 😓

Leave a Reply

