Posted in mommyhood

Fire through Courage

wpid-quote-benjamin-disraeli-courage-is-fire-and-bullying-is-smoke-44845.png

Bullying has been quite the topic of discussion here lately. In fact I was planning to write a post on Bullying for 1000 speak and life got in the way and said no you don’t! This is a subject that I feel passionate about and felt guilty for not writing that post so I decided to choose it as my research project for my English paper. It is interesting the things you find out or well really decide to start thinking about when you do a little research.

In my research I have learned about a phenomenon called bystander bullying. Essentially it is a bystander who witnesses the event and does nothing. The child does not say anything nor does he or she do anything to stop the occurrence. Is it because the bystander is afraid or is there some other reason? I think it is due to the lack of awareness we as s society has for bullying in addition to the lack of tools provided for children on how to stop the behavior.

My point is this simple. Talk to your kids. Tell them about bullying and why it is wrong. Explain that bullying is repeated acts of aggression towards another human being and it is never okay to let someone be harmed physically or mentally and do nothing. Teach them to tell a parent, a teacher or some other adult if they are afraid to say anything during the act. Tell them to get help.

We need to teach our kids to have compassion for the victim and help them in any way possible by befriending them and choosing to help. It is easy to watch someone get bullied and say nothing but true bravery is shown when action to stop and say no this is not okay!

I will be honest in saying that I have not had these conversations with my children but that will change today. I have talked to my kids about not letting anyone hurt them or say mean things to them. They are taught to stand up for themselves, but have I taught them to stand up for others? not really. It is something that we do not always think about but that is why I love the concept of 1000 speak. The awareness that everyone brings to the table just simply makes you think about things that you may have not considered before. Today I will stand tall and teach my children courage, bravery and a love for human life that surpasses their own! Today we will be brave.

Courage is fire and bullying is smoke – Benjamin Disraeli

You can also find me on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

10 thoughts on “Fire through Courage

  1. Go you!! 😊 I’m passionate abt this subject too and yes, we need to tell our kids to stand up for themselves or stand up for those who are “weaker” and they themselves don’t hurt anyone too. I keep telling my daughter that she just needs to walk away if her friends are not being nice to her.

  2. This is so important and true! Thanks for bringing this to all of our attentions. It is a good reminder.

  3. Great point! Bystanders could often stop bullying from continuing if they would step up. I was shy, but tended to stick up for others being bullied, and rarely did the bullies not back down (I didn’t get into the physical stuff, but would tell someone who could). I’ve been having these discussions with my five year old, and am glad someone else is encouraging people not to stay silent.

Leave a Reply

