Posted in mommyhood

The Longest Weekend EVER!

We have been lucky enough to not have sick kids for a few months and then Friday it happened. Duckling #3 (2yo) woke up with 101 temperature. Feeling like his whole body was on fire. So I called in to my new job ( yeah that sucks) and told them I wouldn’t make it.

I took him to the doctor who said what I thought which was just a virus. I almost wish she had prescribed some antibiotics just in case but this particular nurse practitioner doesn’t know that I am a nurse and would only give them if he was getting worse and not better. Friday evening he was still having fevers and nearly 103 this time. Duckling #3 just simply does not get fevers that high, nor does he sustain them. So naturally I awaken all night to check on him until 4am when he swats my hand away. He was done and wanted me to leave him the hell alone. So I did.So now I am sitting here one exhausted little mommy wishing her kids would get well.

2yo woke up with another 102 degree temperature and if he is still having them tomorrow then back to the doctor we go. The only problem is my insurance does not kick in until may 1st so it will be another 80 dollars for a doctor visit and however much the medicine cost. yikes!

I always say that mom’s should never get sick and I mean that but right now I would give anything to take it away for them. I hate seeing them so pitiful.  now if you will excuse me I have a tremendously large amount of coffee to drink! This has been the longest weekend ever!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

12 thoughts on “The Longest Weekend EVER!

  1. Oh, that’s so hard – watching all the little ones be so miserable and wondering whether you should be doing more. Hoping you get in a good nap today.

    I have to say I’m envious of your insurance. Even with my medical insurance we pay almost $100 every time one of us walks into a doctor’s office.

    1. yuck! I have to say that during the time we have been without insurance the docs have been super nice. I had to go to the chiropractor and he only charged me 40dollars! I think the pediatrician was cutting me a deal too. needless to say come on may 1st!

    1. Thanks! That’s what I am hoping for.. We shall see, my son usually does not get sick for this long so it’s been challenging as he has been super clingy.

  2. Sick kids will never be fun! We have been passing around the same horrible cough for almost 2 months now. So brutal! Hope your little ones feel better soon!

    1. I was able to take a small nap but the 2yo is being super clingy and cranky. I am really hoping he wakes up fever free tomorrow because I really want to go to to work and get a break!

Leave a Reply

