Posted in mommyhood

From Bliss to the fiery pits of hell in two seconds flat!

HELLO

Kids do not come with handbooks and neither do husbands for that matter. Today was the last day of school and we decided to reward our little ducklings with a trip to Chuck E. Cheese for a rare treat. I worked there for four years in High School and part of college so for the most part I just can’t! Anyone who has worked there feels my pain, but anyhow I digress.

Shortly after picking up the oldest she fell asleep in the car and something just told me don’t go. If she’s tired it cannot end well. Did I listen to that nagging voice deep inside my head? Feck no I didn’t! The other voice told me just go, you will never hear the end of it if you do not take them! I realize now it was the devil talking.

By now you are probably thinking what is your point April? Well it is quite simply this. When you are a parent you can go from Bliss to the fiery pits of Hell in two seconds flat!

The evening started great and the kids were angels. They were having fun, laughing, playing and making my heart melt with all of their joy. Just as I was patting myself on the back for a good job done, I decided to take the youngest to the car while daddy helps the girls pick out their treasures. Sounds good right? Well, this is where are story starts to derail a little.

I was sitting in the car with 2yo for way too long when I suddenly see my husband come out of the restaurant with only one of our girls! What the Hell.. This is then followed by the restaurant manager who is clearly worried about something. I see the hubby say something to him and then he comes toward me in the car. I freaking out ask him where our oldest is and he says she is inside that he couldn’t deal with it and she wouldn’t come! That poor restaurant manager was freaking out thinking he was leaving her! So naturally I am pissed and storm in there when I hear a mommy ask ” Why is she crying?” Her son promptly says ” because her parents left her hear! ” What!!!! Uggh I just calmly hold her hand and march outside with all the stares from the parking lot audience!

Mortifying is the only way I can put it! I was embarrassed at my husband’s behavior, pissed at him, pissed at herย  and well just plain pissed! We get in the car and 5yo starts screaming and these two are fighting over some damn paper 3D glasses., Seriously! The only thing to do at this point is to take the damn things away so no one has them and then 5yo starts throwing stuff in the car and refuses to put on her seat belt! Ok lord, I need your help at this point. My prayer went like this, “Dear Heavenly father, please for the love of all that is holy keep me from beating the shit out of these kids!” Oh and the husband too, please save him from me because I am having thoughts in my mind that I should not he having. Thank you and Amen!

Every moment is fleeting and it can change in an instant. happiness can turn to sadness and the reverse. Tonight as I sit here with dark circles under my eyes from exhaustion and a heavy heart from feeling( just for a split second) that I wish my life were different, and a soon to be empty bottle of wine, I will try to remember that this is not a bad life, it’s just one hell of a bad day!

Cheers to tomorrow being another Day!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

5 thoughts on “From Bliss to the fiery pits of hell in two seconds flat!

  1. My favorite parts of this post are your prayer…every single quoted word of it…and your last paragraph. Cheers to starting every new day fresh and without baggage from the previous day.

    Glad everyone survived and all the children went home with the right set of parents ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

