Posted in Random

To Whole 30 or not?

I have been reading blog posts about the whole 30 challenge. I bought the book and am considering it for myself. The problem is I am just not sure if I can stay strong! No creamer for my coffee??? I can do without sugar and without the gluten.. Maybe, but no Dairy! No wine??? I don’t want to do it with the mind set that I could fail, which is why I haven’t started it yet. But the idea of feeling and sleeping better appeal to me.

My only other concern is that I would have to plan ahead and while at work I am great at that, I am not so much at home. Three very busy kids and I am lucky if I make it to the grocery store for the week! So I need your help, suggestions and thoughts.

Have you tried the whole 30? Was it worth the effort to plan your meals or do you regret doing it at all?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

17 thoughts on “To Whole 30 or not?

  1. Fad, fad, fad. I say, what’s the point? Live your life, be as healthy as you can, and don’t beat yourself up for not following the latest “health” trend.

  2. The two times I have done one of these no everything diets i didn’t lose a pound and once I started adding foods back in I gained weight steadily for 6 months. I still can’t lose the 10 lbs I gain over a year ago from a new year, new me “diet”. I am just slightly bitter. Unless you plan to eat this way forever stick with moderation.

  3. I lost 14lbs doing the whole30, for me it got me past my sugar addition and food addiction and taught me a few things. I have added some things back in but basically try to keep with the clean eating, watching how much dairy and gluten I eat, basically it keeps me away from breads and pastas, along with butter, ice cream etc. I’m using the 80/20 rule. I keep away from processed foods and sugar but if I want a bowl of cereal once a week or ice cream on the weekend I have it. I have continued to lose 1-2lbs a week and feel great. I feel like it got me started and now I’m in a good patterned of eating 5-6 times a day and eating healthy foods. Thinking of food more as fuel for my body instead of just enjoyment. If that makes sense. It’s working for me and I feel it’s a doable lifestyle change. So that being said, what do you want to take from the whole30 challenge?

    1. That is a good question. Weight loss is obviously one goal but also to have more energy.. I feel tired constantly and I know its due to the way I eat!

  4. I physically don’t think I could do it. Last year I gave up sugar for about 6 weeks (apart from some cake on my birthday) and I felt a bit of a difference. I think it’s much easier (and probably better for you) to give up things one at a time, for longer, than to give it all up for a short period of time. Good Luck xx

      1. Good luck with WW! I keep meaning to start again and am in the “maybe next week” stage of the cycle…. I’m thinking soon. I know I feel better when I’m eating better to and WW really helped me focus and not eat mindlessly.

      2. Thanks! I started Monday and I have been a little hungry but otherwise it’s going well! I already feel more energized. Good luck when you start back 🙂

  5. Have done it many times, almost always feel way better afterward, as far as energy and sugar addiction! And I always lose weight (10lbs last time). But be prepared to really spend time on food prep. Also, make sure you understand WHY you’re doing it! There’s a whole theory behind doing this and if you read the book and agree, then do it. Otherwise there’s not much point. It’s a challenge, but it’s just food and it’s just 30 days. It’s not like you’re giving birth or anything;)

  6. I’m not too familiar with whole 30, but I do believe what you eat greatly impacts how you feel. However, setting yourself up for failure with too strict a plan will impact how you feel too! Maybe you can take the whole 30 plan and adapt it? Phase changes in slowly or commit to a shorter time frame. Good luck!

    1. I agree with you.. the whole 30 is too strict for me so I am doing weight watchers and started this week! So far I am doing well.. a little hungry from the smaller portions but already have more energy 🙂

Leave a Reply

