Posted in mommyhood

What Will Your Legacy Be?

IMG_1450Crystal from The Qwiet Muse has nominated me for the 10 in a box challenge. Immediately I ran to take a picture of this blanket draped on my 5yo as she was napping. I am still working on this challenge, sorry Crystal I am slow. But this blanket means more to me than anything else in my home.

This blanket belonged to my grandmother and now belongs to me. From the day I took this picture, I have not stopped thinking about her. The way she laughed, the way she cried. The way she loved children. I began to think of all the weekends I spent with her. She was my nanny, a second mom and a friend.

Her Legacy continues in everything we do. My grandmother was strong, independent, kind-hearted and yet she didn’t take anyone’s shit! She was not one to be run over nor would she sit and watch someone run you over. This woman whose husband had a stroke that paralyzed him days after their wedding took care of him all on her own until his passing nine years later. At this point she was not a young lady but well into her senior years. She was Brave.

Anytime one of her grandchildren announced a pregnancy she would buy tons of baby gifts and put them in her favorite wrapping paper. A big Black garbage bag, because let’s face it, it was the only thing that could hold all that loot! She was loving.

If at anytime you admired something she had, or that graced her home, she would give it  to you gladly. Whether it be the next holiday, birthday or just because she would place that item in with your garbage bag full of goodies. She was generous.

She was set in her ways and if you argue you with her at your own risk. She was stubborn and proud as much she is loving and kind. She was a fighter.

She passed away before I was able to have the chance to tell her that I was pregnant with the oldest.  I will always wish that my children could have had the chance to know her like I did. But standing here looking at this beautiful quilt  wrapped around my child, I can’t help but smile and think What will my legacy be?

Will they say I was kind and loving. Will they say I worked hard and cared for others. The ultimate realization is that you have the ability to change your legacy. Think about the person you want to be remembered as and become that person. If you want people to think you are kind, then do kind things. If you want your children to remember special moments between each of you, then create those moments.

Lately I have been busy and in a hurry, but one thing has stayed the same. I will always make time for the kids. Now don’t get me wrong, I am not saying stop what you are doing every minute of every day because Let’s be realistic. But stop and think about who you are and want to be and make the strides necessary to become that person if they are not the same.

So now as I close thinking of my grandmother and her legacy, I have just one question to ask of you. What will your legacy be?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

2 thoughts on “What Will Your Legacy Be?

Leave a Reply

