Posted in acceptance

The Day History was made

compassion quotes (1)

I was sitting at an intersection today while letting another car go ahead of me and it hit me, Today was a day that history was made. When we sit in our cars and help other vehicles by flagging them, guiding them out to safety, we don’t always see them. We don’t see what they look like or who they are with. We just see a Car in need and we help them. We provide Compassion to them. It doesn’t matter what they look like or who they choose to spend their time with, we just help. Wouldn’t the world be a better place if we only seen people as people?

Instead we see black, white, Hispanic, gay, straight, boy or girl. I can’t help but imagine how great this world could be if we could all just see people instead of their outer appearance or sexuality. Whether you agree with today’s decision or not you have to admit one thing. Today is a day that history was made! Today is the day that will be in textbooks many years down the road. Or great-grandchildren will be reading about the civil rights movement of 2015!

Do you remember reading in history class about slavery and how slavery became non-existent? I remember reading these stories of whippings of human people just because they were black and a slave with tears in my eyes, because how could a human do such a thing to another human being. Don’t we all bleed the color red from our veins?

I remember laughing as I learned that woman did not always have the right to vote, that somehow we were less equal by our difference in chromosomes from those of the male species. Aren’t woman smart enough to educate themselves and form an opinion on who is to become president? of course we are..

We are all people. We all love. We all care. We all hurt. We all bleed. We all cry. We can all Marry.  We do not need to hate. We do not need to judge. We do not need to fight. We need to have compassion. We need to love. We need to look at each other like the cars on the road, as people who are in need of kindness, support and encouragement. We are all equal. We are all people.

Disclaimer: I wrote this out of compassion for others.. If you do not have anything nice to say then please do not comment and I will provide you that same courtesy if I do not agree with something you post.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

7 thoughts on “The Day History was made

  1. Your referencing cars touches me especially tonight …

    After Li’l D’s graduation tonight, I left in my car and Anthony (carrying J) left in another. Anthony was quite a ways ahead of me when I left.

    I somehow managed to catch up to him. I didn’t realize it immediately, instead only after he waved several times. Then, as our cars went different ways again, it struck me as so wild that another person driving past his car would see a stranger and some car seats. In that car? Two of the three loves of my life … but to someone else, just an old clunker of a car hardly worth noting.

    I still can’t wrap my mind around it, but hey … I’d like to see in every car the love of someone else’s life.

    1. I love this comment and so true! When my husband leaves and takes some of our children or al of our children with him to I often think how everyone on that road better be careful and treat that car well! In that car are the most important people in my life!

  2. I was just saying to Hubby that our grandchildren will learn about how there was a time when people of the same sex couldn’t get married and think it was crazy, the way we did when we found out people of different races couldn’t get married at one point.

    While we’ve had same sex marriage in Canada for over a decade, we’re still celebrating this win with you guys! I know the fight is far from over, but this is an amazing start. <3Wins

Leave a Reply

