Posted in mommyhood

For the love of Waffles…A mom’s enjoyment of her new found independence

You mean this  waffle

Kids grow at the speed of light and I have often wished for my kids to stay little for just a little bit longer. Once I told oldest to  please stop growing, that I don’t want her to grow up yet. It’s funny how kids quote you and the things that stick with them because months later when her grandmother said something about growing up a then 4yo said ” But Mommy said we can’t get bigger!” “We can’t get too big or tall! Yeah she said that and I loved her for it. But no matter how hard I try, I just can’t stop the vertical train!

This is the part where I begin to confuse you because guess what? It can be a good thing for your kids to get a little older, wiser and yes taller! Saturday morning I began to brew my favorite cup of dark roast blend and sat at my computer per usual Saturday morning Routine. I usually awaken a little before the kids and get my morning going. Not on purpose folks! Sheesh I would love to sleep in but my internal alarm says Hell No! anyways, I digress.

The 7yo woke up first as usual and then it was the 2yo’s turn to rise with the sunshine. I got him out of bed and sat him on the couch with his equivalent to caffeine! Good ole cup of premium white cows milk! Sitting back down to enjoy my coffee and the oldest says she is hungry and begins to make herself some waffles! Did you hear that???? She made her own breakfast and 2yo was not far behind. Guess what? She made his breakfast too without even asking. She just promptly made him some waffles and set his plate in front of him with a fork people!

I don’t know if it was the light shining just right but she suddenly became my favorite child! Yep, I didn’t have to make breakfast Saturday morning at all and was able to read some blogs while those two enjoyed tasty waffles. In this moment I realized just how much she is maturing and becoming such a good helper. She’s not a baby anymore no matter how much I try to keep her that way.

So see, it’s not such a bad thing for your kids to get a little older and more independent. My 5yo has been able to buckle her own seat belt for the past few months and let me tell ya, My back thanks her! Climbing in the back of a mini van to buckle a seatbelt is not for the weak people! Especially when you have to crawl over what should be the inside of a well stocked toy box to get to it! This is what heaven feels like.

2yo is completely potty trained! He is out of pull ups even at bedtime! Can you hear that, it’s the sound of angels rejoicing! It’s like a whole pay raise once you finally have to stop buying diapers. I still buy the wipes though, because you know kids and all!

So there you have it folks. Just remember when you feel sad about them growing up and losing that cute little baby fat, that it will make your life much easier when they gain a little independence of their own. I am certainly enjoying it 😉

If you like this post then follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

You can also find me twitter : https://twitter.com/Diapersandtutus

Mummy and Monkeys
Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

37 thoughts on “For the love of Waffles…A mom’s enjoyment of her new found independence

  1. It is always wonderful when they can start making their own food! Until they over cook mac and cheese like my 15 year old step-son did the other day and not tell you about it until you go to wash the pot lol

  2. Awww that is lovely, and how great that your kids get on so well and are kind to one another. My 4 year old changed my 2 year old’s nappy this morning (Only a wet one, I hasten to add) and I thought that was really sweet. I’m looking forward to them being able to make me a cup of tea! x

    1. I could never get the oldest to change Brendan’s diaper lol! he’s 2yo now and potty trained but we tried t get her to change them when he was wearing them lol!

  3. So many nice things about them being babies and then slowly (although it must seem very fast) growing up. Hope you have more Saturday morning waffle time.
    Amanda. #WeekendBlogHop.

  4. I suddenly really Want waffles now… Can she make me some? 😊 hehe.
    I don’t have any kids yet, but I majored in early childhood education & worked with 4&5 yr olds for 8 yrs.
    Being a PreK teacher, you get to see the kids grow right before your eyes. I personally love that age bc those are the years that they want to learn new things. Their little brains just soak everything in… And they don’t talk back! Lol.
    But it’s so sweet that your daughter make her little brother breakfast … And Without even asking!
    With her starting to show some responsibility, you should see if she wants to be your “Official helper” on Saturday. You guys can sit down and talk about things that she’d be interested in helping you with (like breakfast). And in return, she would get a special incentive!
    Just a thought 🙂
    I’m going to go make some waffles now… At 4:30 PM lol.
    Great post! 💗
    – Heather Lynn
    #SITSblogging 🙂

  5. I completely understand! I love that my 7 year can help himself to most anything and doesn’t require my attention…but then I look and see how tall he is and my heart squeezes a little 😦

  6. Oh my goodness what a miraculous moment! My daughter isn’t potty trained and definitely isn’t making herself waffles, but when she plays independently for a little while and gives me a few minutes to work/zone out/eat, I thank my lucky stars.

  7. Such a lovely post and I totally resonate with how you feel. I often look at S and wish time would slow down. At 3 years and 4 months he’s at such a cute age and so much fun!! But then when he does things independently so I don’t have to do them anymore, it is a great feeling 🙂 Thanks for linking up to #happyquacks x

  8. Lovely post. They do grow so quickly… it’s lovely when they suddenly begin doing things for themselves (or for us) – I can remember my first 3 fighting (ages at the time ranging between 6 & 10) over who would make Mummy a cup of tea… the novelty soon wore off mind, within six months they had me begging my cuppa lol

    my eldest is almost 30 now…he’s still my baby 🙂

  9. Oh I understand this so well. My 7 year old did this the other morning, not waffles, just cereal and milk and I only had to worry about the baby. It’s true, you don’t want them to grow up, but it’s lovely when you see how independent and capable they are becoming. Thanks for linking up to #PickNMix

  10. I’m with you! I love how independent my 6 yo has become… although I agree it’s bittersweet sometimes. I am dreaming of the day my 2 yo is potty trained. It’s starting to feel like it’ll never happen! Thanks for linking up at the Manic Mondays blog hop!

  11. My 11 year old helps out tremendously, which is great but at the same time he now says he is to old for a hug or kiss or to dance with his mom and act silly. So im not sure its an even trade. Lol.

  12. Hi April,
    I thought it was much easier when my girls (no boys) could get their own breakfast. I’m glad you liked my “Why I love blogging” post. Thanks for visiting my site.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

