Posted in Random

Finding yourself in the Service of others

Mahatma GandhiIt’s Day two of my quote a day challenge. This particular quote I stumbled upon on Facebook yesterday and immediately fell in love with it! Gandhi as always has some words of wisdom and I enjoy his quotes often.

I must admit that at times I can be quite selfish. I think we all are, but this quote reminds me of why I chose the nursing profession to begin with. We get to serve others in need. When they are ill, scared and at a low point in their lives, nurses can provide support and compassion.

The thing is, I get paid to do that, so why does serving others have to stop there. Why shouldn’t I get involved with the community and help others. Β This quote reminds me that there are more ways to serve others in need.

I have a calling to do more and i must act on it! This has me thinking of some volunteer opportunities in our community and I am now going to make it my mission to join at least one!Β  Thanks again for nominating me for this challenge Ann! I am loving these posts πŸ™‚ What ways do you serve others?

My nominees for today are:

  1. Louise at http://babygatesdown.com/
  2. April at http://storiesofourboys.com/
  3. Becky at http://pinkscharming.com/

I hope you ladies enjoy this challenge as much as I do πŸ™‚

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

12 thoughts on “Finding yourself in the Service of others

  1. That’s a lovely quote, and this is a lovely blog post. I wish you well with the volunteering – you’ve clearly the heart for it πŸ™‚
    #weekendbloghop

  2. I’d love to volunteer,but find it so hard to find the time with two small children. There’s a local program where you go into schools to help children with their reading, and I would love to do this, but you have to commit to three sessions a week for the full term (possibly longer), and I just don’t have the time. Perhaps in a year or so, when my littlest is in nursery when I have more time to myself.

    1. Absolutely, you can only give when you have the time to do so andit is hard to do when the little ones are still little. I am lucky enough to have volunteer opportunities where I work and can leave work to help someone in need πŸ™‚

  3. Such a nice quote! I think volunteering is a beautiful way of sharing the blessings we’ve got, whether it’s knowledge, skill or simply good service. Well done to you & Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

