Posted in acceptance

Advice for my younger self

I see you staring back at me with your knowing smile. The windows to your soul giving me the I told you so speech without saying a word. I see you staring back at me with that glimmer of hope and that courageous heart,

You have seen things and experienced things that I just cannot begin to understand. The fine lines around your eyes that show the wisdom that took years to create. The lines around your smile that says I have a secret to tell you and it’s big!

Your staring at me, taunting me with the secrets that you are hiding. Desperately I want to know the answer. I want to see it all years before my time. Patience is not my strong suit and today you tell me to be patient.

You are telling me to wait, to hold on to my hope and faith over the years. You want me to hold on to those things even through the challenges and suffering because there will be suffering, You tell me to accept the difficult times as much as the easy times, because the difficult times are the ones that have made me stronger and eventually happier. These are the times I will learn compassion, patience, acceptance and tolerance.

Staring back at me you will tell me that at the age of 34yo I will feel nothing short of fabulous and all those people worried about turning 30’s clearly hasn’t matured yet because this is the best feeling in the world.

I will look at myself in the mirror and realize how amazing it is to be 34 ! How wonderful it feels to be confident and reel that my place in the world is right where I am! I feel no need to rush any aspect of my life and live in the moment versus living in the future that may or may not exist. I am strong, happy, excited and for the first time in my life patient. I would tell 20’s self that the things that I thought were important just really are not important at all. I would tell myself that in he end, it doesn’t work out according to plan! It ends up being better than I could have imagined life to be!

If you could go back and talk to your 20’s self, what would you say?

If you enjoy this post then follow me on Facebook! You can also fine me on Twitter 🙂

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

