Posted in acceptance

34 and Feeling Fabulous!

wpid-20150704_141413.jpgListening to a coworker complain about almost turning thirty and being “old” I couldn’t help but hide a smile. I never sweated turning 30 and now that I am one day shy of 34 I have to say one thing. Being in my 30’s is pretty freaking fabulous!

Your 20’s are about self discovery and learning where you fit in today’s productive society. It’s about growth and maturing. It’s not about having the best career or how quickly can you get to the top as most of today’s 20 somethings seem to think these days. It’s a spiritual journey that I am glad to leave behind.

Today I know where I am and where I am headed. In my 30’s I have more self-confidence as a woman, friend and mom. I know what I am and what I am not. My weaknesses no longer scare me. I know that my strengths make me who I am as equally as my weaknesses make me who I am. I am no longer afraid to admit my mistakes and use them as a learning opportunity every time!

Healthy debate no longer scares me and I in fact relish it! Healthy debate is how we better ourselves and the society that we live in. I can appreciate someone else’s beauty and strengths because they add a uniqueness to the situation rather than be envious of what I do not have or possess.

There is a campaign going around the blogosphere called #BeREal and although I may be a day late to the party I can’t help but join in to celebrate my upcoming birthday. The above picture is me with no filter. Before I seen the awesome post by Lizzi Rogers… I had played with different filtersย and enhancements because we all want to look our best right?

But after reading her powerful post, I decided to leave it be and just let you see me. So here it is, the real me.

The real me wears make up so most of my pictures I am in make up. The real me has freckles and I love them! In my 20’s they always made me self-conscious but now, they are just a part of me and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

The real me likes red hair so I dye It red once every two months. My birth color is brown in case you were wondering. although it has not been that color for many years.

The real me at the age of 34 has a few strands of grey hair and I am okay with that.

The real me loves to read and would much rather sit in a quiet room or outside surrounded by nature and read a great story rather than go to a party with lots of people.

The real me knows how to network and socialize but would rather be alone for an hour ย in order to recharge.

The real me has big dreams for my career but will only act on them if her family is stable enough to do so. I will not sacrifice my family for a career.

The real me loves purple! it’s my favorite color,..I hate pink but tolerate it due to having two little girls because you know.. you have to!

The real me is afraid of failing at motherhood. I see what so many go trough with their children and feel as if it could be us and it terrifies me.

The real me loves Disney World!!! It’s my favorite place to go ๐Ÿ™‚

The real me rocks driving the mini van and it doesn’t bother me one bit to not have a sporty car. My kids would ruin it anyway.

The real me has a messy house! This type A personality has a messy house due to her three little hurricanes and I can’t keep up with it! Beware if you come over unannounced because hey, it is what it is!

The real me has control issues and I am not afraid to admit that I am a work in progress.

The real me hates to go fishing, camping or anything outdoorsy. Except sitting on a beach or tropical island. I like that.. But for the record I would absolutely go camping if my kids wanted to or if there was air conditioner then that could work.

The real me loves Pizza and can eat a whole large by myself!

Here I am world! A ย Red headed, freckle faced, pizza loving 34-year-old woman who wouldn’t change any of it!

34 and Fabulous1 _BeReal

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

20 thoughts on “34 and Feeling Fabulous!

  1. Guess what? It keeps getting better!! I’m 53 and have loved the process. In my 40’s I thought they were the best. In my 50’s I have had to deal with melanoma so the jury is still out on how great this decade will be but seriously… the building blocks of wonderfulness are true! Great to read you… glad for the sharefesting!

  2. Happy birthday! And as for your coworker fretting over turning 30, the best Facebook birthday wish I got on my 30th (8 years ago now!) was that the only thing worst than turning 30 is not turning 30. Fair point.

    I’m pretty happy with my 30s too. I hope the rest of the decade matches or exceeds the first half for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ha fair enough.. I will have to use that line when I hear someone complain about turning 30 again lol! Thanks for the birthday wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Happy birthday (or belated, I can’t remember what day it is anymore). You are gorgeous, thanks for sharing “you”!

    My only issue with 30 was that my divorce was finalized around that time, so I think I was using that as a catalyst for birthday angst; we’ll see how I handle 40 soon enough ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The real you sounds pretty friggen awesome, and I totally agree about the differences between 20 somethings and 30 somethings. I am 30 now soon to be 31 and finally very comfortable with myself.

Leave a Reply

