Posted in mommyhood

Terrible two’s can suck it!

Life has been a little stressful lately and naturally when I get this busy I tend to shy away from the blog. The irony here being that when I get this busy and chaos is all around me happens to be the time when I need this blog the most. So this is me reaching out and saying I need this, I need to write and find my voice. It has been a little lost for a while.

It’s nothing major really just the every day stress that comes from parenting a 7yo, 5yo and a 2yo. The 2yo is so easy-going and relaxed we just thought that we would skip right over those pesky terrible two’s! Umm not!!!!Β  The closer he gets to those trying threes the more he has decided to show us that we haven’t seen nothing yet!

Let’s see lately we have had a full-blown satanic meltdown over power rangers, his blanket, whether or not he wants to eat his banana and well really anything that strikes his fancy.

This morning proved to be quite the challenge. I went and awakened him out of his slumber and he just layed there smiling at me with those cute little dimples, and I thought okay. he’s in a good mood. Not a chance! He threw down about the shirt he was wearing and then his dang underwear! Apparently only super hero underwear was the way to go this morning! Seriously!! Then after said meltdown we got up and I carried him to the couch in which he screamed bloody murder because Mickey mouse was left in his bed. I consider myself a good parent so I went to het the mickey! Damn that was the wrong thing to do. he stomped and screamed right behind me and then his devil horns began to show because apparently he is the only one who can touch mickey mouse!

So I did what any parent would do I threw that shit down and decided to pee. a completely hysterical kid followed me and as I was on the potty decided that he needs to go too! I tell him to go to his bathroom and next thing I know he has peed all over the damn place! OY.. so much forΒ  being in a good mood.

We eventually made it to the car and dropped off at daycare. I am lucky to have such great work friends who don’t mind me being a few minutes late and can not only relate but laugh at my expense. In hindsight it was pretty funny but don’t tell my son that..

Now as I drink my glass of red wine all I can say is terrible two’s can suck it! I want my sweet boy back πŸ˜‰

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

26 thoughts on “Terrible two’s can suck it!

  1. Aww yes. L was in the middle of the kitchen floor kicking and screaming the other day. Oldest got out her phone and recorded most of it. When L realized it, she ran to the laundry room still crying and hid her face. Lol I used to say your horns are showing to Oldest all the time when she was 4 till about 7. πŸ™‚

  2. Mine is 3, and we still have trouble getting her to use the toilet. And her tantrums are worse now than when she was 2. Everything can set her off. Looking forward to having my mom and sister around to help out and give my wife and I some breathing space.

    1. yes. breathing space is much needed when you have a toddler around! I hope you get some soon. It is amazing how equally wonderful and stressful a little person can be isn’t it;)

      1. We had a day away from her on Saturday, and you know what? The stress levels went down, and we didn’t have any snappy arguments about nothing. It seems our daughter is the cause of our impatience with everything.

    1. It’s funny how I I forget how much I need this blog. I get busy or too tired an decide not to even though this blog saves me tons of money in therapy lol! It is good to be back πŸ˜‰

  3. Yup, been there and thought I’d never survive. Your sweet boy will return…when he’s a young adult. (sorry, I couldn’t resist—you’re going to need to stock up on the red wine for the teen years)

    1. Nooo! I do not want to think about the teenage years! my girls are 7 and 5yo and that means I will have two teenge girls at the same time! I wonder if I can order wine on auto delivery lol!

  4. The closer Avery gets to three the more scared I become lol. She has been having meltdowns over everything. Her oatmeal was not ready fast enough so she start throwing her toys out of her toy box like she was possessed. I can’t wait until my sweetie that like to cuddle is back πŸ™‚

  5. Their timing is always so impeccable when they decided to throw a tantrum, and of course! using a potty! ;D Why wait when you can pee all over? Let’s see how far I can get away with this and let’s see how mommy keeps her cool! Hahaaa!

    There’s still traumatic 3 after the terrible 2s…just saying! :p I’m sure you’ll laugh about this one day..although it wasn’t so funny when you were right smack in the middle of it. Heheee..hee!

    1. lol another year of this to look forward to then! We did do some laughing at my work after! Telling the story is hilarious, living it.. well not so much πŸ˜‰

  6. My oh my! What a day! But you did the right thing…grab a glass of wine and write a blog post! I know what you mean about not being able to get to your writing when you need it the most. That’s kind of how I have felt this summer.

    Hang in there, mama. It’s not that it gets better, it gets different…well, it does get better…they eventually stop peeing on the floor πŸ™‚

  7. Ah the terrible twos I remember them well. Can’t imagine what it’s like having other kids too at the same time! Therefore all I can really offer you, is to drink wine with you. This one’s on me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

