Posted in mommyhood

Staying positive through the depression

wpid-110533_20130703_160504_grass_wallpapers_314.jpg

The 7yo had her first counseling session on Friday and today she had her appointment for the genetic screening. There is a theory that she could have a genetic disorder in which her body is unable to break down vitamin B and that could be contributing to her depression.

We will start with the counseling first. I think it went really well, and she was given some tools to help her communicate her feelings. We tried this on Saturday as she seemed to be having a down kind of day, but she was not impressed. After attempting to coax her in to communicating with me, she yelled that she could not talk to me in another language! I guess I will take that as a no for now.. Hopefully after a few more session we can get her to open up about her feelings. The problem is,I am not sure that she even knows what she is feeling. It has been heartbreaking for sure..

She has this anxiety about going to the doctors and always worries that she will get a shot! Today we explained over and over again that she was in no way shape or form getting a shot! But when that doctor came at her with the cheek swab she screamed like she was trying to get away from a murderer. We ended up having to pin the poor child down to get the swab done. At this point I am not sure if I am hoping that this is pat of the problem or not. If she has this mutation, then I have to try to force supplements down her throat day in and day out, and if she does not, then we have a 7yo with symptoms of depression and no real way of knowing why.

She has been moody this weekend, which is somewhat good. At least she talked to me on some level. The little kids wanted to play with the sidewalk chalk this weekend and she chose to stay indoors! It is hard to see her isolating herself and not wanting to play outside. She did make one attempt to come outside, seen some ants on the sidewalk and ran back inside. Sigh.. at least she tried.

As a mom, it is hard to watch your child struggle. You think that if you give your children a warm, loving home then that will be enough, but sometimes, for some reason they still have struggles. I am thankful that we have caught her symptoms at an early age and pray that we can give her the tools that she needs to live a happy life! Today, despite all the negativity around me, I am choosing to see the bright side. My daughter is thriving in school despite the struggles she deals with, her grades are stellar and she has at least two friends that I know of. Today I choose to see the positive!!!

*This post is part of a series I am trying in order to be positive. There is so much chaos in our lives that it is easy to see the negative without recognizing the positive.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

5 thoughts on “Staying positive through the depression

  1. Wow, that was a beautiful piece. It’s so hard to think if a child already with symptoms of depression and anxiety, but maybe we’re all just born a certain way. Some of us way mire sensitive than most people making it hard to cope in this world.

    1. It is hard to think of my 7yo having depression. I just thought she showed her emotions differently and she does but she has depression too.. Counseling will help… Thanks for your kind words 🙂

  2. It’s hard to imagine a 7 yo having depression. This is hard – for you to see her like that and for her, hard to decipher. Perhaps it’s a phase. You radiate so much positivity snd that’s so comforting. And that you can only make it better and coming out stronger when focusing on the positive. Sending lots of positive dusts to you. X.

  3. I’m just thinking aloud here and it could be something you’ve already thought of, but when I think of all of us here, writing for a reason, anxiety, depression, there are many reasons and we find comfort in that because its easier then talking. What about if you get her a book and on the front it says feelings. I know you’d said previously about the issues with others taking her things, so instead of a lock on a book, put it on a box, only you and she have the key. Perhaps she might use it to jot things down as they come to mind? I dunno, just an idea. Hugs to you anyways my friend for it can’t be easy, but trying to be positive is a good start x

Leave a Reply

