Posted in mommyhood

Positively exhausted

a.baa-Tired.-Just-tired

Today Is just one of those days. It’s a plop where you drop exhausted kind of day, You moms know what I am talking about. It’s when the bedtime routine goes out the window and you let those little energy suckers fall asleep and plop where they drop. The 7yo and 5yo are both passed out on the couch and since the bedtime routine consist of rubbing 5yo’s feet until she falls asleep I am beyond thrilled to have them both asleep without my prodding.

The books don’t tell you about the pure exhaustion that occurs when you have kids. The kind of exhaustion that should come with a warning, don’t drive in this state of mind kind of exhaustion as you could be harmful to others. Yeah, they don’t mention that do they.

Let’s begin with 2yo shall we? He decided this morning that he and only he will get himself inside the van and into his car seat this morning, and as soon as I tried to help in, it was full throttle category five meltdown mode! I am taking the kind of tantrum that causes a toddler to stop breathing and begin peeing on himself as we are trying to leave the house meltdown! Well, I can’t take a kid to school in wet clothes can I? Well , yes you can If necessary! I grabbed some extra clothes, buckled that boy in the car and said we will change when we get there! The older sisters were going to be tardy and I was not going to have to check them into school for being tardy! We changed clothes at the daycare and all was well with the world again.

Work has been quite mentally draining today so you know there is that. I love my job, but there are days when the mental exhaustion sets in. Thankfully it does not last long. The perks of no longer being in management is being able to leave the work at work!

The 7yo hurt her tooth at school and she is refusing to eat anything until her loose tooth falls out! Part of her OCD symptoms is that she has this fear of anything to do with her mouth. Hence the full down meltdown at the doctor’s office regarding her cheek swab yesterday. She told me that she is hungry but can’t eat! Sigh, her tone is so melancholy and matter of fact, who really knows. Praying that she will eat something in the morning

5yo had a black eye courtesy of some zombie playing at after school care last week, so you know.. that’s fun. I told her to stop being so bossy the other night and she went completely nuts on me and cried for about twenty minutes. Apparently a friend at school told her she is too bossy and she will not play with her anymore, so there goes my mother of the year award!

exhausted doesn’t even begin to describe my mood today. But.. I AM DETERMINED to see the bright side of things. Tonight as I sit on the couch with my sleepy kids around me, I am choosing to see the positive over the negative. We have a warm home, a fridge full of food, the love for one another. We are physically healthy, and mostly in one piece. We will exclude the one black eye from this equation. Tonight, I am positively exhausted and choosing to be positive in life.

*This post is part of a personal challenge for me to see the positive in every situation.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

4 thoughts on “Positively exhausted

  1. Your day sounds quite similar to how mine have been going for the last little while. Sorry life threw you a bit too much today and hope tomorrow is calmer. I keep waiting for the fall/school is starting rush to end, and it just hasn’t. Get through Thanksgiving? Now it’s Sparks stuff + finding Halloween costumes + need to buy skates because that starts this weekend…. there are days where I feel I just spin.

    So I understand. Hugs.

    1. Thank Lois!! Thankfully we have costumes , but my next class started today so its back to adding homework to the mix! Around and around I go lol. So far today is better though 😉

  2. I hear ya! We’ve had those days where we wonder what we did all day because we’re so tired! One night I fell asleep with the kids at 7:30 and slept all night. There’s always a positive in the challenges we face as parents. Kudos to you for looking for them!

Leave a Reply

