Posted in mommyhood

To post pictures of the kids or to not post pictures? A blogging mom delimma!

I have been sitting here typing away for a blog post on taking the kids to the farm. The post is mostly done but for some reason I can’t hit publish. I am torn between whether or not to continue posting pictures of my kids in my blog posts. The world is a scary place and I honestly do not know what to do here. When I started blogging I really didn’t think about how posting pictures of my kids would affect them, but now with the oldest and her recent issues, I am not so sure it is the right thing,

I think about the possible public humiliation or embarrassment. My kids do not know that I write about them. It is not necessarily a secret that I have kept or anything, I just blog when the kids are asleep so they never see it. Could someone steal my pictures? I a sure they could, so that is scary in itself. Could someone figure out who they are and target them somehow?

I am semi anonymous in my profile. My last name is not located anywhere on my blog, however my family and friends know that I blog. How do you protect your kids privacy but still be able to write like you need to? I need writing like I need air to breathe and the community at WordPress has been nothing short of amazing!

On the one hand I wonder if it is truly a big deal and on the other I feel like I am hesitant for a reason. How do manage your parenting blog? Do you worry about any pictures you post or do you never post pictures of your kids? I need your advice and thoughts here. Am I just being overprotective and worrying for no reason?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

16 thoughts on “To post pictures of the kids or to not post pictures? A blogging mom delimma!

  1. I don’t post any pictures of my son, or any identifiable pictures of myself. But I’ve taken an anonymous approach to blogging overall, because I feel more comfortable that way. Some real-life friends know do read it, and I always assume that someone could figure it out if they really tried.

    There’s not a “right” answerโ€”it all depends on your comfort level (and, as your kids get older, your kids’ comfort levels).

  2. I’ve thought of this a lot too.

    It’s hard. Sometimes I post pics of the kids from behind, like them looking at or participating in whatever it’s about. Also I try not to post embarrassing or revealing pics. No full names and no location indicators. Although in sure if someone really wanted to they could find out. :/

  3. I don’t worry about targeting as much as just the pictures being used by someone else, but M was older when I started blogging and didn’t care if I used his pics or not. It also helped that his name was really generic so it wouldn’t come up if someone tried to search for him (mostly my stories about his mental health with that vs. pictures though).

  4. I struggle with the same thing. With my step-son I don’t usually post pics of him. I think I did once. Since he’s a teenager I don’t post too much about him as a lot of people in our community read my blog and I am not his mother. He doesn’t seem to mind if I do talk about him but I did ask him if I could post a picture. With Avery I do get nervous about over-sharing and pics. I don’t want her to feel embarrassed when she gets older and I definitely don’t want anyone stealing pictures of her. But I am like you and I love to blog and the blogging community is amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a hard call for sure. I kind of go by the day. If I feel like a certain picture really fits with what I wrote about I use it. If for some reason I just don’t feel comfortable using a picture I don’t. I hope that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I had a post on this topic a while back too. I’ve decided to protect my child’s privacy and not share pictures directly of his face. I’ve shared some on the blog that are from the back (like when he’s climbing on something) or that only showed his mouth (when showing a bottle I was reviewing in use) but nothing clear and obvious where someone can use it to recognize him. Go with your gut, and if you’re uncomfortable, don’t use a photo.

    1. yes.. I think that I need to start considering their privacy.. I have definitely decided stop showing my oldest’s photo for now sine she has bee havingher OCD and depression issues.

  6. I’m fairly new to the blogging community so this discussion is of great interest. I’ve decided, at this point in time, to remain anonymous and not show pictures of myself or my son that can identify us(so only pics from behind, really). For me, it’s a safety issue. I want to protect my son, and I certainly don’t want his image stolen either. For me, I am writing about some personal topics and feel it’s best to keep my identity out of it. This likely impacts my blogging readership, and it certainly limits the value of photos in my storytelling, but it’s what I’m comfortable with at this point.

  7. I never post pictures of my kids. Not even their backs although I think that would be a compromise. Take pics from them from behind and post them. For me it works not to post pics of them.

  8. I have the same awful fears that you mentioned in this post, so I don’t post any identifying pictures…and we have fun names that are obviously not our real names ๐Ÿ™‚

    My kids know that I write this blog. In fact, they encouraged me to start it. I often let them read my posts before I publish them, because I don’t want to publish anything that they don’t feel OK with. My older daughter usually likes to read them, my youngest just wants to see the title and the picture!

    As far as the pictures go, they have begged me to post actual pictures of them on the blog…but I just can’t bring myself to do it. Instead, I post pictures that represent them…my older daughter’s pointe shoes, the little one’s soccer ball, stuff that belongs to them. This way, the pictures are still personal but not identifying.

    1. Oh I like that idea. Using things that represent them is a great idea!! I used the back of my son’s head on this last post and felt better about that.I used to play pics of the kids and not think about it, but now it just weighs on my mind..

Leave a Reply

