Posted in mommyhood

MTHFR- No it is not a cuss word

MTHFR- these letters will forever be ingrained in my brain. By now you are probably thinking April must have lost her mind or has been drinking. Well, the latter is correct because as I sit her with a glass of red wine, I can’t help but reflect on today’s events. Today we got answers. Answers that we didn’t even know that we needed.

I received a call from the pediatrician with lab results for 7yo. She has tested positive for a genetic mutation of MTHFR. In other words, her body cannot break down folate or vitamin B. Folic acid literally builds up inside of her body and becomes toxic to her due to her inability to break it down. This can lead to many different health problems that include cardiac, infertility and yes depression and OCD.

When we first learned that our 7yo had symptoms of depression and OCD tendencies we were stunned. How does a 7yo get depressed? He has a good home, and we love her and support her. Now we know that this illness is a contributing factor. It doesn’t necessarily mean that it is the only factor, but it definitely contributes.

I can’t tell you the emotional roller coaster that I have been lately. Blaming myself. wondering if we are good parents or if we suck in the parenting department. Was I not a loving enough mother? it is hard to swallow when you hear that your 7yo is melancholy and depressed/ These are all things that I always knew underneath the surface, but when a professional tells you so , well it sits a little differently.

Now my daughter will start medication for her condition and I pray that she is able to take the pills. We will also have to modify her diet and watch how much folic acid is in her food. This will be a huge challenge and life altering event. From what I read so far, most processed foods have high amounts of folic acid, so trying to switch to whole foods is going to be hard for her.

As I sit here and type I can’t help but worry about any future illnesses and challenges that comes along with this genetic disorder She could have infertility issues, cardiac issue or even renal issues. It is all very scary. The mutation comes from one of the parents and in her case she got a double whammy! She is double heterozygous for the gene which means she got two types of mutations from the same parent. We will e blaming the husband or this one. Honestly I think I was tested for the gene during pregnancy and was negative but I could be wrong.

We have long journey ahead but at least we know what we are dealing with. hopefully with the new medication and counseling we can get our little girl as close to normal as possible, Have you ever heard of MTHFR? Do you have a child with depression or OCD? How do you cope?

wpid-mthfr.jpg

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

29 thoughts on “MTHFR- No it is not a cuss word

    1. yes!! people should know more about this! I honestly did not know about it until these last few weeks. I remember getting tested for the gene while pregnant but dint know what it was, and since I wasn’t a carrier the doctor really didn’t explain it. I hope to share more as I learn more πŸ™‚

  1. I can just imagine all the emotions you must be going through now. One thing I’ve discovered over the years is that having a “label” can be a relief – at least it helps you come up with a plan of action and possibly some explanations for what you’ve been seeing. Thinking of you and sending hugs.

  2. I am so glad that you have some answers. I know it’s easier said then done but try to take it one step at a time. I would totally be worrying about all of the other things it can cause too but hopefully by the time any type of infertility issues would come up there will be more things out there that can help with that as well as the cardiac and renal issues it can cause. There is new research being done everyday and I hope that they will make strides with MTHFR πŸ™‚ I am happy that you got answers though!!

    1. Thank you Autumn. It is so difficult not to worry about what can happen in th future and now I hve t get the other kids tested. The middle on seems so tired all the time so it is possible that she has it as well!

  3. Wow! Thank you for sharing this. I had never heard of this condition. It’s wonderful that you guys were so on the ball and were able to get the answers that you needed…now you know how to proceed. I foresee that your entire family is going to start eating healthier from now on…less processed, more whole, yay!

    I wish you the best in this journey. You guys sound like some really caring and attentive parents.

    1. Thank you and yes we will be needing some died changes around here. We are definitely learning a lot about ourselves through her counseling.. It’s tough but necessary,. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. April, you’re dealing with a lot. But you’re dealing with it. To catch this so early indicates you’re tuned in to your child. And because she has you, she’ll be just fine. Together your family will adjust, cope, and you’ll all be stronger for getting through this. Remember though, none of us are strong through the whole journey. We’re meant to lean on each other from time to time. -Elle

Leave a Reply

