Posted in Baby Daddy

A weekend to Remember

wpid-20151107_103523.jpg

Remember the feeling when you first fall in love? The warm butterflies you felt when you looked at each other. The way it felt as if you were the only two people in the room even though their was dozens surrounding you. Those feelings change over time, the love is still there but it changes. Add a few kids in their and well, you rarely get time alone. This weekend the hubby and I were blessed to spend time alone on the beach!

It has been six years since our last weekend away and it was much needed. Over the years we said we would ensure that we go on date nights once a month and make a conscious effort to spend quality time together. Well, you know what? It’s damn hard to commit to that when you have three little ones, two full time jobs and a part time student career getting in the way. I honestly do not remember the our last date together. It has been awhile. But this weekend, we were alone. This weekend we had quiet. Guess what we did?

We talked about the kids the entire time!!! Get your mind out of the gutter people… We missed those three little people that we were desperate to get away from like crazy. It actually gave us some time to talk about the oldest and her mthfr diagnosis, which we had not  a proper conversation about since she started therapy. The husband is tired and asleep by the time I get the kids to bed each night, so our conversation can be minimal at times. We also really enjoyed our alone time, so I don’t want you thinking there was no romance, because guess what the spark is still there, it just looks a little different now.

We arrived at our beach condo after picking the kids up from school and taking them to our sister in laws house for the weekend. It used to be effortless but now we have to plan for accidents, picky eaters and well you get the idea. The condo was beautiful and immaculately cleaned. I am happy if the laundry is clean at home. We felt like we were living in luxury with no crayon on the walls, and the dining room table that you can actually see the top of! We took one look at the second bedroom and began rambling about the kids, lol. it’s amazing how that works. The rest of the evening was spent basking in the quietness and enjoying spending time together.

The next morning sounds of the waves crashing against shore woke us up. This is  a much nicer sound that a three year old screaming that he wants his mommy or the 7yo that wakes you up to tell you that she needs to go poop! t was glorious. After taking our time getting dressed and ready for the day, we walked on our private access to the beach and sat and talked. We talked about our 7 year old and the challenges we face with her mthfr diagnosis. There were emotions and tears as this was not how we set out to spend our romantic get away. Even, as we were discussing the challenges I looked at my husband and remembered. Being able to have a real conversation with him reminded me of why I chose to spend my life with this man to begin with. it wasn’t the grand gesture of roses or gifts that would have lit my fire in those early years, but the companionship, support and genuine love for one another that sustains a relationship through the good bad and ugly. Believe me when I say we had seen it all.

later that evening we decided to do some shopping and of course bought for the kids. We did at the  least get some Christmas shopping done. Dinner was at a local seafood restaurant and it was delicious! The rain came next so we went back to the condo to relax.

The following morning we were awaken to raindrops hitting hard and heavy. Een then the beach looked beautiful and we talked for a few minutes then decided it was time to get ready to leave. We missed the kids but were glad to have the weekend together. It wasn’t the perfect idealistic get away with rose petals on the bed. but it was perfect for us. Time for us to talk, hold hands and be a couple. Even if we did talk about the kids a lot, we still managed to talk about other things. We were able to just be… Something that is difficult in the everyday challenges that come with raising three kids together. I will never forge this weekend and hopes it will serve as a reminder of the need for us to spend quality time together without the kids. I sure didn’t feel those butterflies like when we first began dating, but I felt a love more powerful that the puppy stage you go through when you begin dating the love of your life. I felt the long lasting love that carries you through the ups and downs, the good and the bad. The kind of soul nourishing love that never fades and only strengthens with time. For that, I am thankful!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

20 thoughts on “A weekend to Remember

  1. You said it! It’s not what you talked about, but that you were able to focus on what you were talking about…no interruptions…no distractions. Of course you will talk about the kids, they are your life and joy! I don’t think kids should be banned from the conversation just because parents are on a weekend getaway. Talking about kids is not the same as talking about work…kids are life-giving. I’m glad you guys were able to have this much needed time together 🙂

    1. Its hard to get around talking about the kids . especially when they are our life.. I know people that say their relationship isn’t about the kids and I understand what they are trying to say.. But when you become a family they kind of make your relationship and I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

  2. Sounds fun!! Isn’t it amazing how you get away for time alone and spend it talking about them lol. It is a must to get that alone time even if it doesn’t happen very often 🙂

  3. Keep getting that alone time. When the last one leaves the nest all that will be left is the worry about how they’re living without you. So far, my husband and I find other things to talk about–well I talk, he pretends to listen. (just kidding) The best thing we do is laugh together. The weekend sounded wonderful. You know, even with our kids grown, we don’t go on dates or get away much but being together is enough for me.

    1. We do need to laugh together more often! It’s been tough to maintain the fun part o our relationship with three small children, but we definitely need to never stop laughing 😉

  4. I know exactly what you mean, the last time my husband and I had a night alone was 4 and a half years ago! We have 4 kids and now my love in dad, so glad for you that you got to get away for a bit!

  5. I’ll never understand the advice to go on dates and not talk about your children. I suppose it makes sense in theory but it’s just not realistic. Kudos to you for getting out of the house with your love and making time for each other.

Leave a Reply

