Posted in mommyhood

The moment you cannot prepare for

wpid-2015-11-14_21.22.07.jpg

Anyone who has ever met me would know that I am a planner. I like to plan ahead and know what is going to happen and when it is going to happen. Spontaneity is just something that I do not do well with. In fact, I remember my husband springing lunch with his family on Easter one hour before they were meeting. The littlest was just a few months old at that point, and well, let’s just say it was one miserable lunch. At least for me it was miserable. It wasn’t in the plans for the day.

Today we went to a birthday party and had a great time. Obviously this was in the plans, but what you should also know about me is that when I am ready to leave, I am really ready. The party was at a local park and attempting to wrangle the kids was becoming about as effective as herding cats. Alas we had all three kids ready to go and what does my husband do? He gets out a basketball and takes all three kids to play on the court! say what… I am like done at this point people and here he goes playing all fun dad and taking the kids to play basketball and its getting dark outside!

I was obviously frustrated, marched my little but over to that court and took one look at my family and stopped in my tracks. Something about the sight of him playing with our three kids, all of them laughing, and I was in love. In love with him for being such a great father, in love with the family that we created.

Memories of playing basketball swirled in my head from my own childhood and are still some of my favorite times to reflect on. Instead of yelling and forcing everyone to end their fun, I decided to join in on the fun! We had a blast passing the basketball back and forth. Playing keep away from the 3yo which really isn’t hard, because you know he’s three. The 7yo laughed and had fun as we spent that moment enjoying togetherness as a family.

It’s okay to be a planner, and heaven knows that I definitely am one of those. But it is also okay to just relax and enjoy the precious moments that god gives us each and every day. A mist all the challenges, busy schedules and hectic lives, we have those moments. It is just up to us to pay attention to them.

Our oldest daughter will be eight years old next week and I am just amazed at how fast the time has flown by! Years.. I mean years are passing by and for the life of me I can’t figure out where they went!

Paris has suffered a terrible tragedy. For those that live in the united states, we know the feeling, the terror that bestows upon that country right now. We remember 9/11 like it was yesterday. We remember where we were when we found out the news. We watched the news coverage as the world trade center collapsed. We vowed to live life to the fullest, we vowed to cherish every memory created. A vow that at the time was sincere and felt to be the truth.

The truth is, as time marches on and life gets in the way, we forget those vows. We take things and each other for granted. We have deadlines and schedules to keep leaving no room for spontaneity. We are reminded once again of how precious our time on this earth is. I challenge you to forego your plans and your schedules and look for the daily opportunity to enjoy the moment. Even if the moment only lasts five minutes, find something to enjoy.

I spend the majority of the day cleaning the house and getting naps in for the kids. All three kids were well-behaved today and it was the perfect opportunity to clean the house. As I reflect on today, I realize that had my husband not grabbed that basketball and created that moment, then I may have not had one with my kids today. I was too busy, had too much work to do. I am thankful for my husbands unplanned nature. shhh.. don’t tell him that I said that. He balances me perfectly even when I refuse to see it.

Today we had a great moment, one that is sure to be my favorite of all time. Had I not opened my eyes, I would have missed it! Create your moment, find the time and enjoy the little things that we so often take for granted. As, I say my prayers tonight for those that have lost their loved ones in recent events and for the world that just seems to have lost its mind, I will also thank god for the reminder. The reminder that life is short and we only Β get one shot at this thing called life. I challenge you to make it count.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

11 thoughts on “The moment you cannot prepare for

  1. Awesome! So often I find myself being the “fun spoiler”, because I’m trying so hard to keep us all on schedule, and we’ve run out of time for this because we have to do that now…and I hate it! What a beautiful moment you snatched…good for you πŸ™‚

  2. I’m a planner too and it frustrates me when I have to come up with an excuse when a friend asks me to do something unplanned. I like how you stopped and realized your moment. The kids won’t remember how regimented you were as much as how you love them. Good for you for going with the flow!

  3. Lovely! I’m a planner like you and try not to let myself get irritated when things get in the way. But you’re so right, we have to enjoy those wonderful moments together because you never know what awful things life can bring.

    1. Thank you and your welcome😊 its a reminder I have to give myself often.. So easy to get sucked into the business and stress of every day life. Thanks for reading and commenting 😊

Leave a Reply

