Posted in mommyhood

Kitchen Nightmares

IMG_2323

Let the kids help in the kitchen they said.. It will be fun they said….. They will begin to try more foods if they help cook the food they said..

Lies, Lies, and more Lies..

I have been trying to get the kids more involved in the meal preparation and it has been fun to have them help. But what they need to add to the above statements is NEVER turn your back on those little minions for a second! Look at this little guy destroying my pumpkin cornbread. IMG_2330Seriously I turned around for one second and I turn back round to find my lovely, Pinterest found, homemade pumpkin cornbread looking like it was meant for sensory play. That is just what he used it for too. He took those little hands and molded that stuff like it was play dough. Seriously I don’t know what he was thinking. The only logical step was for me to grab the camera and catch the minion in the act. I’m not wasting time getting mad and yelling, just take some pics of his adorableness. We had a talk about not playing with food after πŸ˜‰ The aftermath was horrid and it took awhile to clean up. but I have a clean kitchen now so you know, there is that.

Having the kids help in the kitchen has not enticed them to try more foods, so I am pretty much calling bull shit on that one. I was so hoping that getting them involved and helping with the prep, stirring etc. that they would try the food that we made. I had the two littlest help me make beef stew one night and it was so tasty, but nah, they turned their noses up at it without trying one bite. lies.. lies.. lies.. I tell you.

For you who have kids that actually eat a variety of food, can you share your secret? I am dying over here.. what tricks have you tried to get your kids to eat more foods?

IMG_2339

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

19 thoughts on “Kitchen Nightmares

  1. Heheee! You’d have to have a patience of the saint to have the kids “help”. I try but not much patience with it and allowing them to do little stuff. Then the mess… πŸ˜‘ yep. Lies! one of the things we try to get the kids to eat variety of food is telling them they hv to try at least 3x. If they don’t like it, then they don’t hv to eat. I get better luck with my daughter on that than my son. With my son, it’s much tougher to get him to try even once!

  2. At least he is rocking the adorableness as he destroys the food. So cute! I am looking forward to getting my daughter into the kitchen to help with food prep but now I will go in eyes open. Great post!

  3. No advice here…because this week they will eat something, next week they won’t like it. It happens for a very long time and it’s hard keeping up with who likes what.

    1. yep, that’s how my kids are they like something one day and don’t the next. The middle child I the only consistent one, as in she just doesn’t like anything lol..

  4. 1) My kids are really fussy eaters, so I cannot advise you anything! I think, some mothers are just lucky with kids who eat veg πŸ™‚
    2) I try to avoid kids in the kitchen as much as possible. And avoid cooking anything too fancy that would take too much time and attract them to the kitchen.
    3) I think, my basic cooking menu paid off – saw a friend of mine make cheesy tortillas last weekend (just two tortillas with cheese in the middle, cooked for a couple of minutes on a dry pan). My daughter tasted that and said: “Mom, these are delicious! I had no idea you can cook that well!”. Yes, I’m a pro πŸ™‚

  5. So super cute! At least he had fun : ) When my older girls were young they liked to try to make their own “recipes.” I gave them free reign of the kitchen and they could use any ingredients that they wanted. I helped them “cook/bake” it however they wanted and they always ate their concoctions. They always wanted me to try it too – I did some of my best acting in those moments.

Leave a Reply

