Posted in mommyhood, Uncategorized

Call the authorities…

I guess you better alert the proper authorities because I have turned into one of those mom. You know the mean ones who starves her children and let them go thirsty, Yeah, that’s me. I’m the mom who makes her child say please when asking for something and well you know, you don’t get what you ask for when you don’t use your manners.

I had a blast of realization one day at a birthday party for a relative. The birthday girl had a party at a local park, with her friends and family. She was opening her gifts and behaving ungraciously, scratch that, she had a big attitude and was being rude. This has apparently been a thing lately and she is only 10! I watched her thinking how I would beat the snot out of her when the realization hit like a freight train. My kids demand things of me all day long without saying please and thank you, so who am I to judge.

I mean it, my kids will say things like “I want milk” and expect that I will stop what I am doing and get their treat! Seriously, this is what my life has boiled down to. Serving demanding little people who expect that I am going to get whatever they want, when they say they want it.

I decided that enough is enough and we were working on our manners. The 3yo is pretty good about using his manner, but I don’t let him get away with anything. I love him dearly but I do not want to raise an adult man, who can’t do his own damn laundry! A 40yo momma’s boy is not cute, just saying. He always says please, thank you and excuse me.

M girls however are more of a challenge. You see, we were jus in the learning phase when we had those girls so I am claiming parenting inexperience on that one! The 6yo is as stubborn as they come, so I knew that this was going to be a rough day. She asked me, no demanded that I get her milk this morning. So I looked at her, just like I did my son and said what do you say? She looked at me with a WTF look and said.. nothing. I said, say please and I will get your milk. You have to use your manners. The stare down began and I swear she was trying to burn holes through me with her laser hot go to hell stare. But I did not give in and then the waterworks came! She cried and cried for forty-five minutes. And you know what? I let her cry. Once she calmed down, I told her that when she used her manners, then she could get milk.

She apparently didn’t want to use her manners, so there was no  milk given and she went thirsty until late that afternoon. I know, like I said you should alert the authorities because I am clearly abusing this poor child.

Around two to three  in the afternoon, something amazing happened. She looked at me and said “mommy, can I please have some milk”.. Oh yeah, happy dance right now! She has used her manners since that moment, and she learned something about mommy today! She learned that she may be the most impossibly stubborn little person on the planet, but her mom is tough shit and means business!

So tonight as I reflect on my parenting win, I reflect on how manners is slowly becoming a dyeing art form. In a world, where people will literally run into you and never say excuse me or sorry, we must analyze our hand in raising kids without manner. Kids without manners turns into adults without manners, and we all need to be a little more polite every now and then. For now, if you hear my children telling you that I wouldn’t let them eat or drink anything, don’t alert the authorities because I am just teaching my kids some manners.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

7 thoughts on “Call the authorities…

  1. Well done on you for standing firm! Good manners are so important. It’s amazing as an adult, how much someone behaving graciously can make a difference in my day. Little things matter.

  2. Hahahahaa! Great post, April! I’m in full support of what you did. Kids should really mind their manners. I would insist on my kids saying “can I have…please” and “thank you” or I would give them nothing but a stare with my hands on my hips! ;D They could scream and shout for all I care! :p

Leave a Reply

