Posted in mommyhood, Uncategorized

Family Pictures and Paying it forward

If you have ever met my children, then you would know that family portraits are no small task. it is probably the reason we have not had family photos since the oldest was born. Yes, it had been over six years since we have not taken pictures.  Usually one kid is grumpy or will not cooperate. We have tried a many times.  I decided that It was time to get some pictures done and that was that. Bribes were made and outfits selected.

We arrive to the portrait studio with seemingly ready to be photographed kids. I took the earliest time possible so every kid would be rested and willing to participate. Except the middle one not so much. This child, who n of myself is one of the most stubborn persons on the planet. There is no bribery or coercion that will work for her when she decides that she does not want to do something.

So what do you do? I decided to truck on and if that little girl has a sour face or frown in the picture then so be it. The photographers wanted to give up. which ticked me off a little because I have two to other kids to photograph and if I let the fact that one  my three kids  will not cooperate stop me, then I would never get anything accomplished. Seriously , we would never leave the house.  Isn’t that what motherhood is? Taking the situation in stride and trucking along anyway?

We ended up with an ok family picture and some great pictures of the oldest and youngest. After the session the hubby and I decided to divide and conquer. He took the oldest and youngest to get their bribe and I took the non cooperative one. I guess she decided that she was supposed to get her bribe, but no ma’am! I explained that she would not cooperate and that is not how it works. Full on meltdown in the car for probably thirty minutes.

This mom decided that coffee was in order so off to Starbucks we went with screaming child in tow. I ordered my coffee with  said child screaming her lungs out. I didn’t care, I needed that coffee. Once I pulled to the window, something happened that caught me off guard.  The car in for my coffee. Maybe she heard my screaming child and felt compassionate. maybe she jus wanted to do something nice for someone. In that moment I remembered what  compassion and thoughtfulness feels like. I smiled at the barista and said, let me pay for those behind me. I could have just taken the coffee and said Merry Christmas to me, but it wasn’t about the free coffee. In that instance it was about paying forward the kindness and compassion that was just bestowed upon me.

The Christmas season is full of chaos and busy schedules. It is finding the right present, but it is more importantly about spending time together, compassion and kindness. giving goodwill  towards others. Today I remind you to pay it forward. You never know how you might a person up with a random, simple act of kindness.

Merry Christmas

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

6 thoughts on “Family Pictures and Paying it forward

  1. I am plotting the bribe for my toddler to do family photos as I type this. She doesn’t like pictures much, but I’m determined to make them work!

    On another note, so glad someone’s act of kindness brightened your day. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

