Posted in mommyhood, Uncategorized

Christmas Blessings

IMG_2521

As all three of my children are snuggled in their beds, I can’t help but reflect on today’s events and how blessed we are as a family. Christmas eve was spent baking cookies and crafts for Santa. We laughed, we played, and we had a food fight with flour and cookie dough. It is my favorite day of the year.

I began Christmas eve prepping the lasagna that would be the dinner for the evening. Then it was cookie baking and crafts. We had a blast throwing cookie dough and flour at each other, but only for a quick few minutes. The flour is the closest thing we will ever get to snow anyways, so who cares if there is a little four fight in the kitchen. Don’t worry, Santa had plenty of cookies when he arrived.

The hubby ended up working quite late, so we did not get to decorate the cookies till later that evening. Once we had dinner and read cookies, the hubby read the night beforeΒ  Christmas as well as How the Grinch stole Christmas to the kids. It is part of our tradition forΒ  him to read to the kids before bedtime IMG_2667

Once were put to bed, ( they went to sleep rather quickly I might add) then it was time to get the presents. I spent the night before wrapping gifts, so I thought we were in good shape. Wrong, wrong, wrong. We were awake till midnight putting together toys and wrapping the last few gifts left.

The next thing I know, it is 4am and mini me is running into our bedroom saying Santa had come! barely opening my eyes, I nicely told her to go back to her room and wait till it was daylight. Would you know that little stinker woke up big sis, and I could here them in the living room chatting about their gifts. Sigh.. Up I go and put on a movie, telling them to come get me when it is daylight outside and no sooner.

Thankfully, they obliged willingly and I was able to sleep till 7am. As soon as the first crack of daylight came, those kids were back in my room. We opened , squealed in delight. They were excited. I was excited watching them.

Once it was time to get ready, to spent Christmas with the in laws and then with my parents, the exhaustion set in. I think my mom and I decided to do Christmas with them the weekend before Christmas as it is too difficult to get everyone together. As much as I hate the idea of not seeing my parents on Christmas day, it will make things a bit easier. Who knows, time will tell.

We are blessed to have each other, and to have family that lives so close by. We are blessed to be able to give our kids a decent Christmas with possibly going overboard a bit too. We are blessed that wonderful gifts they received, their favorite thing Christmas is baking cookies with me every Christmas eve. These kiddos of mine have good hearts and for that I am eternally grateful. I hope that my readers had a wonderful Christmas. Merry Christmas and god bless!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

15 thoughts on “Christmas Blessings

  1. May health, happiness, and good times greet you each day of the new year.

    Many good wishes for a new year of happiness and prosperity.

    Wishing you peace and prosperity in the New Year.

    May your New Year be filled with peace and happiness!

  2. What a sweet day! We long ago stopped doing Christmas with the families on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day as it was too difficult with little kids. Until we moved from the area we would do Thanksgiving with one family and New Years Eve with the other. Much easier.

    1. I am so ready to stop the two Christmases etc.. My mom said we will figure something out next year. It is just so difficult. We do thanksgiving with my family and then a separate thanksgiving the Saturday after with my husbands family so it works out.

  3. What a lovely holiday, creating those precious memories. We moved around the country often when my kids were young. It was sad to be away from extended family, but it brought us closer to each other. You’ll be surprised some day to hear what they cherished most about these holidays. They remember time spent together, they forget the presents. πŸ’

    1. We love getting to be around our family, but I love for it to just be us too.. They aren’t little forever, no matter how hard I try to keep them small. They just keep growing !

Leave a Reply

