Posted in acceptance

Words to live by in 2016

Live a life of purity,Vaue and FaithfulnessIt’s New Years Eve, and as I am sitting on the couch drinking my coffee, I am  reflecting on this past year and events that have unfolded. The year started off rocky with some challenges that I thought were life devastating coming at us.  The thing about time is, the seemingly devastating is not as devastating as once believed.

This past year has given me more hope, faith and self discovery than I ever thought possible. My career goals have changed and let’s face it I have changed. What seemed important is not so important anymore. A delusion that I could have career and family equally and be able to succeed at both to the highest of standards. I am not saying that there aren’t woman who can do it all, just that right now, in this time in my life, I cannot. I am still working of course, because you know.. bills to pay. I just no longer prioritize my career in my life. I am focused on what is important. My family is the most important. We do not get a second chance with our kids, so we have to make the first one count.

I don’t do the traditional New Year’s resolution each year. You know the ones.. weight loss, get organized etc.. etc. I like to pick words to live by. Words that embody what I hope to achieve in the upcoming year. This year I have chosen three words that I would like to live by, in the year 2016.

This year, I would like to live my life in purity. To be pure means to be free of contamination. I think that there are many things that can contaminate one’s life, family and marriage. I want to spend this next year living my life by protecting the purity of our family and marriage. Free from financial stress, free from choosing work above my family and free from the evils that surround the world that seek to destroy the purity of families today.

The next word to live by is Value. Sure it may seem simple and easy to value what we have in life, but how often do we really. We take things for granted, we take our life for granted, we even take our children for granted. There are so many families that have to live and move on without loved ones, we just simply cannot take each other for granted.  I want to value what I have. Instead of going through the motions on autopilot like I have done in previous years, I choose to value my husband, my kids and our home.

The final word I choose to live by is faithfulness. Couldn’t we all strive to be a little more faithful. I am not talking believing in whatever higher power, but to live faithfully in each day as if you know that no matter what obstacles come your way, it is going to be okay. I choose to have faith in the year 2016. I choose to believe that if challenges come our way, and it is sure to happen, then we will come out on the other side stronger, happier and wiser.

As you reflect on your own journey from this past year, I hope that you see the battles you have overcome. I hope that you have both lost some and won some of those battles. The battles we lose are what makes us the person we are today. I hope you pick your own words to live by and remember to let loose every now and then. the monotony of every day life can make it seem dull, lifeless and without hope. We are the only ones that can change how we perceive ourselves. The journey to happiness begins with ourselves.

A special Thank you to all of you who follow this blog. I look forward to our journey over the next year! Cheers to 2016!!!!

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

22 thoughts on “Words to live by in 2016

  1. Lovely thoughts. It sounds like you’re really in a good place, even though everything isn’t perfect (it never is!). Peace and joy to you in the new year!

  2. Three great words to live by. If I were to pick words to live by they would be trust and believe. Oh! And more humor….we all need some of that to get through those tough times.

    1. Thanks for always reading and commenting! The stat monkeys say that you are my #1 commenter, your comments are great additions to the discussion, Thanks again 🙂

  3. Fantastic resolutions! I think we all need to focus more on purity, value and faithfulness.
    I certainly need to decontaminate, value and focus more on my children.
    I hope 2016 is your best year yet, financially stable, full of good health and much happiness. Best wishes xx

Leave a Reply

