Posted in mommyhood

Freezing Time with a Time Capsule

2015-12-31_17.36.18.jpg

As we celebrate the beginning of a new year, there are those of us who wish to make time stand still. The kids are growing at rapid rates and no amount of begging, pleading and bartering is achieving my wish of keeping them this little forever. I think it is part of the very reason that my husband finally bought me an HD video recorder for Christmas this year. It’s the only way he can think of to preserve these moments. All the I wuv you’s, and silly dancing will be replaced with annoyances and not wanting to be around their parents in years to come.

Deciding that we needed to freeze time this year, I began to search how to make a time capsule. The hubby had to work for most of the day yesterday, so me and the kiddos made a time capsule and placed something to represent each kid in the jar. Each kid, filled out a questionnaire about likes and favorites. The little ones, with my help of course. They then picked out a favorite picture that represents them from this year and a toy or memento that signifies their current interest. IMG_2717

Later on this evening, I will write a letter to each individual child to open in ten years when we open the capsule again. I was too tired to write them last night, so tonight it is.

As I was settling the girls in bed, ( Thank you Netflix Β for your countdown feature) they asked ” Why ten years”.. Well, because in ten years the oldest will8, the middle one will be 16 and the littlest will be 13. I will have one getting ready for college and one no farΒ  behind. It will possibly be our last New Years celebration all together. I want us to open it, look at our lives from the ten years before and then create a new one to open when they have children someday.

It idealistic and they may hate the idea, but hey. I got them to pinkie promise that we would open it in ten years! So that’s a contract right?

We decided that if we buried the capsule then it would certainly be lost forever, so we are going to display it on our Kitchen shelf to remind us that time is precious. Each child swears not to touch it until December 31, 2015. So again, that’s a contract right?

Cheers to the new year and preserving memories any way we can. I hope you all had a great evening celebrating with those you care about. We had a simple celebration at home with home made confetti and early bedtimes. Except for the 9p.m. boom of fireworks that woke up the three year old. Oh well, I got some sweet cuddles on the couch just me and him for awhile until the fireworks stopped. Happy New Year Everyone! 2016 is going to be awesome!! How did you celebrate?

IMG_2771

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

24 thoughts on “Freezing Time with a Time Capsule

  1. I love the time capsule idea. Videos are fun, but it would be so much fun 10 years from now to open that capsule. We watched a few disaster movies and went to bed early.

      1. my memory seems to fail me sometims, so I am convinced that I will have early alzheimers. Which I think is why I take s many pictures, an try to create so many memories lol.. nurses.. we are so quick to self diagnose πŸ˜‰

  2. A friend saved and shrink-wrapped a copy of the newspaper from the day each of his kids was born, with the intention of giving them on their 18th birthdays – sort of a ‘here’s what was happening in the world on the day you came into it’.
    But I really love your time capsule idea too – very cool! A very Happy New Year to you and your family πŸ™‚

  3. What a fantastic idea! I really love how you got the children involved by having them answer questions and putting a photo and toy as a memento. I hope this blog is around so we can find out how they’ll react to it ten years from now! And I spent New Year’s Eve, the good ol’ fashion way – drunk. lol I went to a happy hour with the intention of not getting that wasted this year but after drink number 5, I should’ve known what the consequences would be and that is why I always call January 1st Happy Hangover Day. lol Glad you enjoyed your new year’s eve and I wish you a happy 2016! πŸ™‚

    1. Haha.. You know, you deserve to let loose every now and then! I hope its around in ten years too! I would love to be able to show you guys their reactions 😊

  4. I want to freeze this Christmas in time. I cried just thinking about taking down the Christmas decorations ( so I am not yet). I love your idea of a time capsule. Every Christmas is special but knowing next year I will have a 16 and 13 year old, it is just too much. Next, Christmas there will be no little boys in our house 😦

  5. We were at a house party, that I turned into a dance party… and I agree Jan.1 is happy hangover day! It was all last minute since noone could quite get their act together and the usual place we stay and rent ( cottages) were all rented by some corporation.

  6. Really neat idea. We kind of do that, but our “time capsule” is really in our Christmas tree decorations. The boys and I have bought a few Christmas tree decorations every year since they were tiny and so now when we decorate the tree, we have great discussions about the Power Puff Girls decorations, the stained glass decorations they painted, the pink flamingos we bought at Pier 1 Imports (when they all suffered gastrointestinal upset after eating Thai food). Putting the decorations up seems to trigger all those memories.
    Very cool!!!!!

  7. Great idea! I’ve got to try this. I’ve made interview videos where I ask my daughter what all her favourite things are and she loves it.

Leave a Reply

