Posted in acceptance

50 Shades of Gratitude

IMG_0854
My three most valued blessings

 

I have seen this challenge on the blogosphere that originated on tales from the motherland. The challenge is to take ten minutes and write out 50 things you are grateful for. Since I love a good challenge, I grabbed a glass of wine and decided to join in. I honestly thought It would be hard to think of 50 things to be grateful for, but once I started I just couldn’t stop. I suppose that is the purpose of the challenge. So.. without further ado, I give you my 50 shades of gratitude πŸ˜‰

  1. My three beating hearts- my children, because without them I simply would not exist.
  2. My husband who constantly puts up with my monthly crazy moods and supports me going back to school I don’t tell him enough, but he really is awesome!wpid-20151107_103523.jpg
  3. learning and growth through school
  4. A job that provides well for our family and allows me to be home in time to help the kiddos with homework , bath etc.
  5. Our warm home-it is just now a little cold in our area, so coming home to a nice, cozy warm home is awesome!
  6. Heat- see above.
  7. tropical weather – we live in an area that pretty much stays in the 70 degree mark year round, except on those hot summer days when it’s 90’s.. but even then I love it!
  8. The sandy beaches that are just minutes from our house- there is nothing better than the sound of waves crashing on the shore.
  9. Clothes- because not everyone has the basics and we should always appreciate the very basic of things.
  10. My parents- our relationship isn’t as strong as it could be, but they are nearby and always there when it is important.
  11. My sister in law- she watches the kids for us during school breaks and that is a major stress reliever for Summer break.
  12. My best friend- we have been friends for over 15 years, and it always feels like home when we talk.
  13. laughter- we couldn’t get through life without laughter to carry us through.
  14. The ability to see the positive in situations-because not everyone can see the bright side.
  15. The pure innocence of children – a joy to see every day
  16. Good food
  17. naps- who doesn’t love a good nap πŸ™‚
  18. counseling- counseling has and continues to help oldest and seeing her progress makes me thankful.
  19. small progress- you need to small victories before you can appreciate the big ones.
  20. A good glass of red wine
  21. inspiring words- sometimes just a simple inspirational quote or word is all I need to keep going πŸ™‚
  22. Reflections- if we don’t reflect on the past, we can’t value the future.
  23. The time capsule the kids and I created.
  24. photos and videos – we will look back on these one day, smile and say those were the good old days.
  25. entertainment- I love a good movie or good book!
  26. light
  27. small acts of kindness – the person who paid for my coffee at Starbucks.
  28. Our Cars- dependable transportation is always a wonderful thing.
  29. Amazon prime and text rental – Thank you amazon for saving Christmas this year and keeping my text books cheap.
  30. Taking the time to remember the important things in life- there was a time when my priorities were out of order, and I didn’t appreciate those important things.
  31. My 6yo’s hugs – she gives the best hugs as if she is hugging you with her whole body.
  32. My 3yo’s imagination and laughter- everyone should be so lucky as to hear him laugh, it is truly special.
  33. My 8y0’s artistic ability- she will have her work in a museum one day. you mark my words.
  34. Safety – With the happenings of the world today, I am grateful for safety.
  35. The magic of Christmas
  36. The battle scars of motherhood- I would not be the mother I am, without them.
  37. patience- on the rare days that I have it.
  38. creative expression- Having this blog and the freedom to write make me happy.
  39. My readers- Some of you I call friends, so thank you for always being there.
  40. perseverance
  41. My children’s health
  42. Jenga- the kids and I love to play that game and it brings us together.
  43. Vacations- we don’t take them often, but I always appreciate when we do. – My goal is Disney this year πŸ™‚
  44. Mental Health awareness – there is a long way to go, but I am thankful for the awareness to mental health.
  45. Tutus- Even though this may be the last year in Ballet, I am thankful for the time we have had at the studio, and the girls dance recitals.
  46. Future possibilities
  47. Teachers- we have been blessed with some awesome teachers.
  48. Fall- thereΒ is nothing better than the fall season.
  49. Birthdays – birthdays means life, and we should all appreciate being alive.
  50. Coffee!!!

Now go on and make your own list! You will feel amazing after I promise!!!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

8 thoughts on “50 Shades of Gratitude

  1. So glad you joined the gratitude blog party, April, and love your list! I’ve read all the lists so far, and with each one, I find myself more grateful! There are so many things that I didn’t think to include on my own list, that I share with others. Yours is full of gems, but Jenga… I didn’t think of it, but love that game! While my kids are all grown now, it has made for many special memories and fun times! Again, thanks for sharing your list!

    1. It’s funny how I though I would have a hard time thinking of things to be grateful for. But once I set that timer, it just started flowing. What a neat exercise πŸ™‚

  2. Nice list. Below my kids and husband would be coffee. That is my life source! I also like how you included teachers. They don’t get enough recognition, in my opinion.

    1. They really don’t get enough recognition and we have had some really great ones. My oldest’s Kindergarten teacher was just so special to her πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

