Posted in Every day mom link-up, Uncategorized

Passing Kindergarten…Finally

I walked into the parent teacher conference afraid and fearful. The six year old has been struggling with Kindergarten and we were meeting with the guidance counselor to discuss the possibility of retention. I had my plan.  I was going to yell at them and demand an IQ test. I was going to let them have it and ask for tutoring. I was going to blame them and say it was because they were not working with her enough. Reading should be fun and they were making it about passing the test instead of fostering an enjoyment for reading.

Upon entering the room, her teacher says, well, when we first scheduled this meeting she was only performing at 56% with sight word recognition. Now she is at 75%!!! So we really don’t need to go through this process now.

Throwing my hands in the air I yelled woohoo!! I’m passing Kindergarten ya’ll, then I felt a little frustrated. I had to use my lunch break at work to come all the way across town to be told, never mind. she’s doing good now. My next thought was who the hell cares, this is good news and we need to celebrate!

This year has been damn hard. I remember Kindergarten being fun and playing in centers and enjoying story time. This constant testing and memorizing sight words has me confused. Did we skip Kindergarten and go right to the first grade? There is an actual state regulation that if my Kindergartner cannot recognize 80% of her sight words, then she has to be held back and start all over again! It’s insane the amount of work and pressure these kids are put under.

Although, I have tried to shield her from the stress and anxiety I can help but wonder if she still despite my efforts feels nervous and worried. Around Christmas time she began to blink her eyes excessively and continues to do so now. We have an eye appointment for her, but I am quite worried that she has developed a tick.  The closet appointment we could get is next month, so I guess I will have an update on that in four weeks.

We have worked hard on sight words in the past month, so I am glad to see she has improved. I have bought hooked on phonics, letter magnets, and pain in hopes that getting a little creative will help her learn. I have even stopped going to Barnes and nobles after work to do homework on days that I have assignments due. instead, I have been coming home, helping with sight word memorization, and then completing homework after the kids are asleep. I am tired ya’ll, like damn tired. At this point it is safe to say that I am the one passing Kindergarten 😉

For now, we will just continue to learn and pray the improvement continues and my sweet baby can move up to the first grade. Who knew that Kindergarten was so hard!

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

25 thoughts on “Passing Kindergarten…Finally

  1. I was shocked with how much homework Little Man had in 5K. He also developed tics starting in 5K. The eye blinking thing eventually went away but now he constantly clears his throat and grunts. Good luck.

  2. I’m with you on the homework, IQ tests and the memory, academic work they have to in kindergarten already. It’s ridiculous! My kids have the same thing in school, too. I’m the one who struggles with all that notion, yet the kids seem fine. :p
    Oh no…not the tick! Interestingly, my daughter is also doing excessive blinking which I have noticed in the last few months, and it has got me worried. her eye-sight seems OK though and the doctor says it’s probably allergies. Still! Now that I read your post, I hope it isn’t tick and there’s a better explanation to that without yet another worry!

    1. The doctor wants to rule out other possibilities. They prescribed antihistamine eye drops that cost 180 dollars, so we didn’t get them. I guess we will wait on the eye exam to find out, but her vision seems fine.

      1. 180 bucks?! Sheesh. That’s daylight robbery. I guess that’s the good thing in Thailand, meds here are pretty cheap and we could get something like that OTC for almost nothing.
        I hope it will pass, and that it is just one of those phases. x.

  3. I remember a time when K was just about graham crackers, milk, recess and socializing. That has all changed. They are expected to read long before 1st grade. That’s way too much pressure at an age when school should be enjoyable. ☺

  4. This was not how kindergarten was for me, or even first grade, or second. What’s being expected of Li’l D now is flabbergasting … and not right. I recently read an article (I should’ve bookmarked) showing that kids are burning out and performing poorer in school if they attended preschool, because they’re already being so inundated with Serious Learning (in ways that don’t even work for adults, let alone little kids) in their earliest formative years that … how could they keep interested and engaged? Teaching for tests fails to create active, delighted learners, and fails everyone.

    But we can measure learning by tests! (Can we?) We can see how kids are really doing! (Can we?) As always, humans suck at finding the right measurements to pursue, confusing the fact that something is measurable with that it ought be measured and held on high.

    (Not that I feel strongly about this! Ahem.)

    1. The funny thing is, the community seems to be very aware of the stress that is being put on these kids. I just wish legislation could see it. We have a local business man who is actually going to give away 50,0000 dollars for bright ideas on how to help kids in kindergarten. It’s a community service project he and his wife are passionate about.

  5. I am always shocked at how much these kids are expected to do at such a young age. Honestly, I am not sure I could graduate if I had to do it over. I am glad things are going better for you guys!!

  6. This sort of frustration is exactly what started me home schooling. Kid #2 got a summer school referral after kindergarten. Summer School. For kindergarten. Yes, K is the new 1st grade for sure. I’m not a fan. I hope her possible tick resolves quickly. I have a couple of friends whose kids have developed those too. Life in the …wait what century are we even in?? I don’t know. But we definitely are ALL under too much pressure, both young and old. It’s insane. Whoo-hoo for her improvements!!

Leave a Reply

