Posted in mommyhood

When the ordinary becomes extraordinary

Dale Carnegie (1)

The monotony of every day child rearing can be challenging, exhausting and ultimately make you feel as if the life is being sucked right out of you. Each obstacle requires a new energy that you just do not feel is left in you. Sometimes making you feel as if you just might crumble in to  pieces to never return whole again.

We muddle through mundane, after school activities, homework, dinner and bath time. All of these moments just seemingly ordinary. What we forget is that the ordinary is the extraordinary and we just have to open our eyes to see the positive rays of energy around us. In other words, you are doing good job mom!

If you have followed my blog, then you know that  8yo struggled with OCD tendencies and symptoms of depression due to MTHFR, and the 6yo has been struggling with learning her sight words and reading in Kindergarten. Each of these challenges requiring a very different kind of energy from myself and my husband.

We have had to work hard, making sure to spend extra time on the weekends reading and finding creative ways for the 6yo to enjoy reading and memorizing these words. Before Christmas she had learned 50% of the sight words she was introduced to.  We were even given a letter stating that she could possibly be held back in Kindergarten for this very reason.

Every two weeks the 8yo has a counseling session help her learn coping techniques with her OCD tendencies. She is also learning how to recognize her emotions and learning to deal with emotions in a productive way. Needless to say, ensuring that she makes to therapy every two weeks and the sessions themselves are daunting.

These obstacles have left me feeling frustrated, exhausted and as if I just might crumble into pieces. At any given time I am trying to be the best mom I can be, the best wife, daughter, employee while giving 100% every time. It’s exhausting.

Stay with me because  here is where the darkness turns into light. I decided to take Friday off work to enjoy 8yo’s play and spend time in the classroom with her. After the play, I went and bought some surprise cupcakes for her class. When I returned to her class, she had the biggest smile on her face yelled excitedly ” you didn’t tell me you were bringing cupcakes!” To most people, this is a normal child reaction when they are excited, but for my daughter this was extraordinary. Her normal flat affect is changing and improving. She was excited and I could have cried right there, but I didn’t. I sat those cupcakes down and played with my daughter and her friends.

Her teacher and I talked for a bit and she explained how wonderful g. Shed friends with a boy who has a speech impairment and no friends. She then tells me how compassionate 8yo is. That she is always looking out for the lowest man on the totem pole.8yo is also going to be screened for gifted studies soon. She is performing better than anyone in her class and reads out loud to her class daily..See extraordinary.

After lunch, I  received a text message from the 6yo’s teacher saying to have a good weekend. Attached was a picture of the 6yo’s most recent reading assessment. She is now recognizing 90% of her sight words. She is fine and no longer in jeopardy of retention. She has been selected as the student of the month for the entire Kindergarten population. See.. Extraordinary.

When you pay attention, there is extraordinary in the ordinary mundane life that is known as child rearing. It is hard work, but boy is it worth it. You are doing a great job mom! Keep at it, remember to take time for yourself when needed, and look for the extraordinary within. Now, I am at this moment going to play in the extraordinary blanket fort built by my kids. They have awesome imaginations.

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

9 thoughts on “When the ordinary becomes extraordinary

  1. I have a 6 year old who I started doing a sight words program with at the age of 3. He’s a quick learner and now in kindergarten his teacher wants to put him in an advanced reading class. I also have a 4 year old, she’s not picking up on the sight words as cleverly as her brother did and I also feel that because my schedule is busier now that I don’t have enough time or the patience to work with her. As mothers we worry about our kids and education. My 6 year old can read but can’t tie his shoes and my 4 year old just about has it down not to mention she loves music and instruments and will strum until she comes up with a tune. I also have a 3 year old who shows signs so far as being a quick learner. I believe all kids are different …they get it when they get it and pressuring them just gives them unneeded stress. Stumbled across your blog via Twitter. Taking a look around 🙂

Leave a Reply

