Posted in Random

If we were having cofee 5-1-16

caffe_latte

If we were having coffee, I would apologize for my absence lately. It has been over two months since my last blog post. I would say let’s sit and catch up.

I doubled up on my classes last semester and that is largely the reason I dropped off the blogosphere. Taking full time courses while working full time and childrearing full time. Well.. That’s a lot of full time gigs for one person and something had to go. Naturally it was the one thing that I do for myself. This here blog. I was barely meeting my deadlines and somehow managed to pull off an A in all four classes. Some people say it doesn’t matter as long as you pass, but for anyone who know me an A is the only grade that will do. I am on a two week break then it is back at it, but this time I am only taking two classes total. The classes are 8 week courses, so it will end up being only on class at a time. Graduation is in December and all this work will finally be worth it. I wish I had done this right after I graduated from nursing school, but here I am getting my bachelor’s twelve years later.

WE have been deep in the throes of childrearing at this house, and it has been quite stressful. The tantrums, fits and constant sibling fighting have had me want to run for the hills. Aย  little over a week ago , I texted a friend that I was ready to run away. A the time I was trying to get 6yo to go to bed while she was having a full on meltdown. We have had several of those lately, where she will not explain her feelings and just melt down for hours. Crying, screaming and mostly when she is tired or she just simply did’t get her way. She had her tear duct surgery on her eye, and we are hoping that it worked. So far, she has not had any drainage in the eye. Only time will tell.

The 3yo has wet the bed the last two nights. He is usually not a bed wetter and I think constipation is most likely the reason. However, I am glad that he wet the bed. Only because it was a reason for me to scoop him up ( after changing him of course) and let him rest with me for the past two nights. It gave me a chance to listen to him breathing at night and I don’t like what I hear. 3yo has always been a loud snorer, and he was too little to do anything about it. He has large tonsils, and most likely adenoids. I could never tell if he actually had problems breathing while sleeping, and now I can say yes he does. He des sleep apnea, so I will be getting him an ENT consult in the morning.

The 8yo Is doing good. She has more good days than bad, but there are still days where you can see the anxiety on her face. Sheย  sat up the other night, and I could tell she was worrying about something. I tried to get her to open up, but she wouldn’t tell me what it is. As a parent, the worst feeling in the world is feeling helpless to your children. Her OCD and anxiety just cause her to shut down sometimes. Hopefully the counseling will help in time.

Work has been great andย  I can honestly say that I love my job. Every now and then, things just work out the way they are supposed to be. Now if I can just finish school, all would be right ๐Ÿ™‚

Now that I have updatedย  you, I would ask about you. What’s new with you and yours?

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

17 thoughts on “If we were having cofee 5-1-16

  1. Great to have you back, April! Sounds like life has been busy for you. It has for me too. I’ve been featuring a bunch of guest posts because I have not had time to write my own lately either. My work from home job went from 15 hours a week to 30! It’s been keeping me pretty busy. I hope things get better for you and you can find more time to write. Always love reading your posts!

  2. Good to hear from you! Hopefully you can get some answers and it sounds like you’re in the right track. I hope you have more time to write, as it’s such a great form of reflection and “me” time.

  3. Been a while April! You sound like you have your hands full with kids and work. I think bedwetting at 3 is quite normal;though I’m now learning from you that 3yo can have sleep apnea too. That’s intense.Wishing you nothing but good tidings in your stressful moments.
    Welcome back!

    1. Thanks so much! Yes, the bedwetti g is normal, especially when the 3 yo refuses to potty before bed lol.. He has enlarged tonsils and like myself at that age most likely enlarged adenoids. Will be getting a consult soon, so updates to follow..

      1. Very typical of a 3YO. My son’s turning 4 and still in diaper at night. I’m a terrible mum! LOL.
        Hope it’s all good news with the updates and nothing too serious! x.

  4. You are a supermom/superwoman. I wish I could say that things will get better but the fact is they just change. New challenges keep us moms on our toes….even when they’re 22!

    1. Oh no!! I’m can’t even imagine them at 22, lol!! My husband is already stressing over the oldest turning 9 this year ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

  5. Great job on your grades, and simply surviving that craziness! Sorry to hear you haven’t been getting much sleep. Hopefully a little less school work will lead to a little more rest. ๐Ÿ’•

  6. Congrats on your school accomplishments! I can appreciate how much work that is on top of everything else. Well done! Nice to “see” you again on the blog and hope everything is okay with your little one – and well, all the kids.

  7. Well done, and so good to read you again finally. Sorry for taking me so long to come over again. All good here! Looking forward to enjoying a nice weekend. Maybe even a lazy day today…

  8. First I would like to say, as a new blogger, thank you for following my blog!! I get excited every time I see someone has read my posts, and Parent Shaming is very dear to me. So thank you!

    Secondly, I have had depression and anxiety from the age of 9. Except when I was child, no one spoke of these things, so I suffered in silence. As I have grown, I now talk about it when I can. I love that you know your daughter so well, and you are putting her in counselling. You are having a hard time getting her to talk, so what about getting her a diary of sorts? Something she can draw in when he mind doesn’t stop. As she gets older, she can write her worries in there. I started journaling when I was teen because it really helped. Keep it by her bed, explain it is her special book. She doesn’t have to share unless she wants to. Just a suggestion ๐Ÿ™‚

    I look forward to haring about how you passed your next classes!! Good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

