Posted in mommyhood

First Grade

 

img_20160812_205029.jpg

The fist day of school and she could hardly contain her excitement. My kids are those little freaky kids who actually like school! Well, at least one of them does. It’s now a month later and the 7yo is telling me how she doesn’t want to go to school tomorrow. She had a rough year in Kindergarten and wasn’t as prepared as she should be. We passed, but she still has a tough road ahead. Reading has been a struggle for her despite our love or books and constant reading at home.

It was the second week of school, when I called the teacher in a panic. WE cannot have the same year all over again, and what is the deal with all this homework! She has more homework than my third grader, and I really do not remember my third grader having this much when she was in first grade just two years ago. The teacher and I talked for nearly an hour. Explaining, to me the higher standard this year. Guess what? The teachers do not like it either. We spend nearly two hours each night reading, practicing spelling words and learning vocabulary. Yep, my sweet first grader who is struggling to read also has to learn the meaning behind other words that are not her sight words. Sigh!

Needless to say, this is going to be a tough year. I jut wish the public school system focused on other things, besides standardized tests at the age of seven! They should be learning creatively, and while I think the teacher is doing her best, she is inhibited by certain standards for herself as a teacher. It stinks. I have been praying for mini me non stop, to build her confidence so she can enjoy school. It is such a special time. Every chance I get, I tell her how proud of her that she works so hard and is so persistent in her learning. She is so smart, and we just have to keep focused. I just wish there wasn’t so much homework and stress for these little first graders.

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

14 thoughts on “First Grade

      1. The teacher told me when I panicked that the standardized testing would tell us her weakness and then we can make a plan. We will see. 😐

  1. Ugh. I hear you, and feel like pain. “Education” as it occurs today is very little like education as I experienced it just a few decades ago! And the homework? I know you and I have exchanged comments on this before, but … gah! I didn’t even have it until fifth grade, save on rare, project-based occasions. I took in my entire K-12 experience as many tests as Li’l D took in first grade. It’s wrong, wrong, and wrong, distancing most children from being able to experience learning as a joy.

  2. I’m sorry that you and your beautiful child are having to go through this. Two hours of homework for a first grader seems absurd! I could say so much about this, but then it would turn into a rant.

    It seems as though her teacher is going to be a good resource. She seems to be on your side. And you certainly have the right attitude by being supportive and encouraging your daughter for all the hard work she has been doing. It makes a tough road a lot smoother knowing that your mom has your back πŸ™‚

    Hang in there. I wish you guys the best this year.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment.her teacher very much seems willing to work with her, which I appreciate. We are hoping to get her a prescription vitamin called enlyte to see if that will help boost her energy levels. I will provide updates in a couple of months on her progress 😊

  3. Oh April! I feel for you in this post. Grade One last year was a very rough ride for my daughter and I have so much anxiety as we start Grade Two. That said, I know you have done SO MUCH to help prepare your daughter – in reading your posts last year I know how hard she worked and you all worked to support her. I hope you have a good year. I, too wish for a system that focussed on gifts other than the ability to rock a standardized test (because my child is also challenged there) but have to live in the world we have. We summer read, and are busy doing Kumon and have a tutor. I hope it helps my daughter. And I hope yours – and you – end Grade One – feeling successful.

    1. Thanks Louis. We had our parent teacher conference today and although she has a good teacher, I left feeling very frustrated. Apparently they cannot do a IQ test or performance test unless her grades are really low. So the kids that are somewhere along the middle get no help? It’s crazy. I hope you guys have a good second grade! It sounds like we are in the same boat πŸ˜‚

      1. Oh that is SO frustrating. So kids in the middle just kind of muddle through. Super. On our end it’s still too early to tell – no meeting yet with the teacher – but we are doing extra math (Kumon) and extra reading/writing support (tutor 1-2 times a week) on top of homework which I’m hoping will help. I do notice a difference on homework this year – she’s still behind but at least she understands what’s being asked this year and has enough pencil control to begin to be able to write answers – even if they’re wrong (which was my “I give up” breaking point on everything expected last year because she couldn’t yet print and in addition to reading was expected to do dictation and write sentences). Positive thoughts your way for the year ahead!

Leave a Reply

