Posted in mommyhood

What are drugs?

ribbon

This week at school is red ribbon week. A week that if you are in the public school system are most likely familiar with. It’s the week the schools focus on teaching kids to say no to drugs and find creative ways to spread the word. Yes, this starts in elementary school.

On Monday, 7yo won a backpack raffle at school and the backpack had small gifts that all said things like “just say no” etc. As I opened the van door to let her out of the car, she asks ” mommy, what are drugs?” uhhh..well…hmm.. “let’s just go inside and we will talk about drugs.

The whole thirty seconds it took to arrive at the front door felt like an eternity as I racked my brain on how to answer this important question for my 7YO!!! we get in the house and I just go for it! I start explaining the reaction to drugs and how they are bad for you. I explain that they cause addiction and people to behave in ways they normally would not. next thing I know she is holding her hand up and says ” just stop.”  I still do not know what a drug is!!!! Well.. damn.. let’s see.. a pill, a powder.. liquid.. herbs.. bath salts pick your poison.

I was overwhlemed and caught off guard. I honestly didn’t know how to anser this question for her in ways that she could understand or relate to. I think like a nurse, so i tend to rely on those experiences from my career to explain the horrible outcomes of drug addiction and overdosing. Someone should write a manual on how to answer this stuff!

The truth is, drugs is not one concrete thing. It is many things that can alter one’s perception and mentation. it can cause death and suffering like nothing i have ever seen. Worse than cancer and other physical illnesses out there. Drugs can break up homes and relationships and cost many their lives way too soon. How do i make a child understand this topic? How do you explain drugs to your children? I need simple terms that my daughter can understand. Any thoughts?

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

4 thoughts on “What are drugs?

  1. Yes,math at is a tough one and I remember having that same conversation in those same circumstances! I went with “Drugs is a tricky word. There are some drugs we really need because we’re sick or they help us stay healthy, and our doctor wants us to take them. We trust our doctor so we do what she says. But sometimes people take drugs that they shouldn’t have or that aren’t good for them, and that’s really dangerous, for their bodies and their brains. It’s very important we only put things in our bodies that parents and doctors say are good and safe.” When they were a little older we also talked about how to say “no.” Good luck!

  2. Whew! I wish I could remember what I said. I probably said don’t take anything someone wants you to take if you don’t know what it is. Then the blah, blah….bad for you. Don’t get me wrong I took it serious. My first question I asked them after being asked any question from my kids….tell me what you think X is? Then I knew how much information they already had and what level to speak to them. But then again, I told two of my kids that the bottle fairy came in the middle of the night and took away all their bottles. They accepted those stories with no problems. 😀

  3. My daughter asked me about “medicines” just recently which lead to us mentioning “drugs” – to which we simplified it with meds = drugs. They can make you better or make you sick and messes with your brains. Not something anyone can take without permission and you don’t want those that make you sick. Pretty much that was our simplified explanation to a 6 year old and she seems happy with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

