Posted in mommyhood

The magic of Disney

We have had our share of Disney  world experiences both with kids and without. The last time we went was three years ago with just the girls. We wanted to have a vacation with just the two of them before little brother would be joining in on the fun. The little guy just turned one years old when we went, so he stayed with out sister-in-law.

This time we were unsure if the husband would ever get vacation time, so it wasn’t until four months before the trip that we were able to plan. We also decided to keep the trip a secret from the kids and surprise them the day we leave for the vacation.

This was not a secret that we could easily keep, but I am happy to say we pulled off the surprise of the century!  We told the kids that morning and were on the road in no time!

The first day was spent at Hollywood studios and while we tried, the Jedi training was full so we had to watch the enjoyment from the sidelines. Each experience at Disney ( which this is the third, one without kids and second with kids) is completely different and this day was not the happiest place on earth. The kids were cranky, no one seemed to have any fun and there were fights over who was going to sit where. I am not sure if it was because I was so tuned in to my own family’s crankiness but as I looked around there were angry parents, rebellious kids and lots of tears! I repeat.. Not the happiest place on earth!

The second day, it rained! this also happened to be our Magic Kingdom day so it was kind of a bummer, but we managed to have fun in the end. Thankfully, I read some blogs that suggested buying ponchos before hand, so we had those to help a little. While trying to avoid the rain we casually slipped into line for the Peter pan ride, and well… we got stuck on the ride. It was only a few minutes but the kids were freaking out! Thankfully we recovered by enjoying the it’s a small world ride after that. It’s just such a lovely ride. Eventually the rain cleared late in the afternoon so we could enjoy the evening shower free. Moments of awesomeness in between the chaos. Isn’t that what parenting is all about?

And then there was Epcot! Oh how we love Epcot! We even had fastpass to the new Frozen ride! Ya’ll do not know how excited I was to ride this ride. It was being built the last time we went. My advice is to get a fast pass ya’ll! The wait without it was two hours and we were in line and off the ride in less than fifteen minutes thanks to our fast pass! The ride is awesome! But do know that there is a small dip so splashing could occur. Something that upset my oldest but hey, water dries. When I asked the 7yo how she liked it and she said ” I didn’t like it.. I loved it!” out of the mouth of babes…..

The last day was spent at the Animal Kingdom and oh how we love the animal kingdom. The safari is just amazing and the tour guides make sure you get to see all of the animals. Since, it is the closest I will ever get to a real Safari, I loved it! We also enjoyed Dinoland  which has an awesome playground and Dino dig for the kids.  Oh and the Lion King show is simply amazing! You really must see it!

To end our vacation we treated the kids to a character dining experience at the Tuskers house. This restaurant features African and some American cuisine and is just spectactular.was  awesome! Even, my husband thought so and he is strictly a meat and potatoes kind of guy! We were able to dine with Daisy, Donald, Goofy and Mickey Mouse. The staffs were impressive and very accommodating and we even were able to see each character twice! They really took the time with each table and I think we will go there again if we are lucky  enough to ever go back!

There was lots of tears, crankiness and even a few tantrums. The truth is nothing is perfect, but in between all those moments where it rained, the kids were cranky and we inadvertently took the kids on  a ride that they describes as desperately terrifying ( the great movie ride btw) there were moments of magic! We will remember the chaos but the magic will stay forever 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

3 thoughts on “The magic of Disney

  1. I envy you. I used to get stuck on the cranky kid part and didn’t enjoy the happy moments in between. We used to take them to the State Fair when they were little and it was always chaos, lots of whining, and crying. We never took them to Disneyland or Disney World. When they were a little older, my husband took them to 6 Flags. They didn’t enjoy themselves due to all the long lines and the crowds of people. Then they understood why they didn’t get to visit the Magical Kingdom. Hopefully, they will have more patience than I have and will visit with their kids.

    1. Girl, as I looked around there were so many grumpy children and parents! It validated the chaos that surrounded us and made me feel less alone, but I would absolutely go again. They really were excited in between those moments of insanity.

Leave a Reply

