Posted in mommyhood

Some days I am drowning

saying-i-look-tired-is-a-nice-way-of-telling-me-i-look-like-shit-im-not-just-tired-im-drowing

You look tired. I cringed as my mother said this to me last night. It’s just a nice way of telling someone they look like crap. The truth is, I was tired last night. I was downright exhausted actually. The 4yo has been super clingy lately and I can’t even go pee without an audience who may or may not be clinging to my leg saying mommy don’t leave. These days I can’t even go pee alone. It is the very essence of exhaustion.

I read another bloggers post today  about the best piece of parenting advice she has received. That advice being to take time for yourself. Something I used to be much better about but somewhere forgotten along the way.

I am not sure if it’s because the husband works so hard and has to get up at 2a.m so he is constantly tired, or if finishing school made me feel as if I couldn’t take anymore time away from the kids but somewhere along the way I stopped taking time for myself. Between 9yo’s cognitive behavior therapy, soccer training, 7yo’s poor grades, 4yo’s sudden clinginess  and attempting to keep up with the house ( although i have lost that battle) i am drowning.

I typically choose words to live by each year instead of a normal new years resolution. I find that setting a goal to lose weight etc. just doesn’t work for me. While I still need to reflect on some words to live by in the year , you can bet they will include something in regards to taking some small amount of daily time for myself. It’s just too important for our physical and mental well-being.

Today I will make a point to spend a few minutes alone to recharge. The funny thing is, at work people think I am an extrovert when the truth is I turn on the extrovert due to necessity but I am completely drained when I get home. I need that time alone to recharge and I suppose the same goes for parents who are extroverts or really just any parent. WE need that alone time to recharge. When the hubby gets home from work, I fully intend to get a cup of coffee by myself and bring a book with me to read. It may only be twenty minutes, but I need it! Even now as i type, the 4yo is yelling “I want momma!” sigh.. guess it’s time to go. Please share your stories with me. I could use the encouragement today.

How do  you take time for yourself while in the depths of child rearing?

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

10 thoughts on “Some days I am drowning

  1. I’ll get myself into a groove of making time for myself, and it’ll work for a month or two. Then I’ll get another couple months out and feel like I’m drowning before realizing I haven’t had time to myself for weeks. Actually, your post reminds me I need to make it. I’ll talk to Anthony about scheduling some recurring time off again. Just an hour or two a week can make all the difference.

    *big hugs*

    1. Thanks Deborah! I think this is something we all need to make time for. I think in a sense school was a time to myself ( believe it or not) and then when the 7yo started having trouble in school I felt guilty for taking time alone to study and stopped. So now that school is over, I just need to find another way and commit to keeping that scheduled time alone 🙂

  2. I wish I had some wise words for you. I’m an introvert and the lack of alone time exhausted me. I think what saved me was play-doh. It was relaxing to me to play with, and the kids had fun making shapes, letters, animals……quiet play. Wishing you find some moments during the holidays.

    1. I think for me its bath time. I put the 4yo in the bath last night after he had clunged to me at my dad’s birthday dinner ( I had to eat with him and his plate in front of me) and then waned to be supper clingy at home. He played for over 20 minutes in the bath and I got a little peace and quiet 😉

  3. I always take time for myself or I expode! I try to get a workout in during naptime. On weekends, I’ll have my husband watch the kids so I can shop, get a pedicure, or just run errands alone. Nothing better than peace and quiet on a car ride, right???

  4. Oh April! Hugs through the page to you. Sometimes there really just isn’t enough space in the world for mom. But this will pass – and you will rediscover time for yourself. Try to breathe and carve out time for you. Schedule it. Find someone to take your kids for a bit and take it. As for me, I have a membership at a gym with a playcare. There are days where I put them in there and just read. No exercise. Read. Quietly. By myself. Find something that recharges you and try to find the space to make it happen. Might not always be possible – but see about finding it. All the best!

  5. So important to have a little alone time. I hope you get some…even taking a little walk for 5 minutes outside the place you work…
    I get that a lot too, except most people go ÿou look like shit!”LOL. Talk about being honest!

    P.S: I see you did some changes to your site! It’s looking lovely!! 🙂 x.

Leave a Reply

