Posted in acceptance, mommyhood

Facing ADHD

 

It took me a minute to realize that I was holding my breath every time the shadow of feet outlined the crack underneath the door. An hour of waiting and that was lot of breaths being held by this very worried mommy. My mini me sitting in the corner playing with a toy in the office, while my husband and I sat waiting for results to all the testing mini me had done. Does she, or does she not have ADHD? That being the question on our minds. Did parental intuition set in, desperate for any indication as to why on earth this child seems to be struggling, or were we being two completely overly worried parents?

Once the doctor came, in it  was both the quickest and longest conversation we have had with any doctor I have ever experienced in my life. He spent over an hour with us going over test results line by line. I love him for that. We may have had to wait for an hour to see him, but it was because he wanted to ensure that he had enough time to explain the results and what it means for our daughter. The entire office had left for the evening, but we were there with our doctor. The terms, ADHD predominately inattentive type came out of his mouth and I swear at that moment I finally let go of the breath I had been holding. WE went over treatment options, and terms like 504 and IEP to help her in school. Then I swear that sweet doctor looks at me with the most sincere eyes and asks me the million dollar question. ” How do you want to treat this?” I am pretty sure that tears began to fill my eyes, because aside from working as a nurse, no doctor has ever partnered with their patient like this, that I have ever seen. Not really knowing what to say, I finally said that I wanted the treatment option that would help her the best. She is struggling in school and needs help.

The next day I sat in the kitchen holding a medication in my hand with tears streaming down my face and my body shaking. A medication that could help this sweet baby of mine focus, but could have some serious side effects. WE expected this, we knew this was the most likely scenario and yet, my heart felt burdened.  With my daughter in the living room, I silently called out to God. I just couldn’t hold the burden of fear any longer and gave this situation to him. I gave her to him. Suddenly I felt lighter, wiped my tears and drew up that medication as I have done for so many patients at in the hospital. With the good Lord’s grace, she took that medication without fight and I went to work and waited. I am not really sure what i waited for, to hear something bad happened, i don’t know. But i waited for word that she was okay, and she was. Day one of her medication and she was okay.

The first day of her medication was last Friday, and although he said she only needed this on school days, I gave it to her all weekend long to monitor her for side effects. She is on the lowest possible dose, and thankfully she did great! Monday came around and her teacher texted me that she had scored the highest grade on her fluency to date.  I can  breathe again, for now it just may be okay. For now, we have hope that she could still pass the first grade. For now, she only needs the lowest dose possible of this medication. Although that could change in the future, I am so thankful for that. For now, we just wait and see what else God has planned for this beautiful child.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

15 thoughts on “Facing ADHD

  1. I had the almost exact experience with my son 7 years ago. He is doing fantastic! He knows when his meds aren’t working anymore and alerts us to any side effects he’s feeling. He is doing awesome in school, sports and socially. He only takes it for school and he adjusts well during weekends and breaks. Given you have a great doctor, I’m betting things will go well for you and your daughter too! 🙂

    1. She is only having to take the meds for school, and I m encouraged to hear that your son adjusted well during the breaks. I have had several people tell me that I should just give it to her every day, but she doesn’t need it every day. We have an excellent doctor who specializes in ADHD so that helps. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment 🙂

  2. Sounds like you have a wonderful Doctor!! I know words like IEP can be scary but they really do help you to get the best care at school. Hearing that Avery was on the autism spectrum was so hard and it still is difficult at times. But it does get easier. Wishing you the best and if you ever need to talk I am always here 🙂

    1. Thanks Autumn! They screened our little one for that too, but she wasn’t on the spectrum. I guess they wanted to rule out all the options. Most kids on the Spectrum are incredibly intelligent, so I think you will have a little genius on your hands! I am glad that you at least have some answers but can imagine how challenging it must be. Hugs to you lady! We might have to lean on each other as we go through these challenging times!

  3. Hi April, thank you for sharing that anxious day with us. Yes, your doctor is so caring and sensitive. You and your daughter are in good hand. God placed that doctor to take care of your daughter! My husband has ADHD. He could feel how much dosage he needs. As some have referred, on days that don’t need to much mental concentration, your daughter may not need to take medication. Just do some observation and make adjustment. If she could be with the regular kids, that’s perfect. It looks like she wouldn’t need 504 (half day). She did well in her first grade class, that’s great. I was a teacher for 15 years and district administrator for 10. Once the school gets the doctor’s result, your daughter is qualified for whatever help she needs. I guess just take one step at a time! I met you at M&G.
    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/about-me/

    1. Thank you for your kind words! WE do have an excellent pediatrician and am so thankful that he was chosen to serve our family. One step at a time is all we can take, and Love that we met on the M & G!!!

      1. Good to know that you have an excellent pediatrician. It may reduce your anxiety by a bit, knowing that the doctor will be on top of it and give you timely advice. I’m glad we’ve met. I like to follow your journey! Thank you for following back!

  4. Be strong! I know what you are going through. My brother has PWS, its been so difficult and there isn’t really much we can do. But we are so proud of the progress he’s made over the years (he is 16), and despite the hard times and decisions, we love him to pieces. We’ve recently had to make some very difficult decisions and are unsure how he will react. But we know that in the long run he will be so much happier.
    Support x

  5. For the longest I disagreed with the term ADHD or the diagnosis in general. I was a firm believer that kids were just wired to be full of energy and not genetically designed to be sitting attentively in grade school at such a young age. I felt like we tackled the problem like most Americans do, medicate, medicate, medicate. My son who turned 9 in February has made me a firm believer in ADHD ( i am sitting here laughing to myself). Though he has been prescribed medications my wife hasn’t taken the leap and had it filled. He constantly gets reprimanded in school for disturbing other students, not being able to sit still, and the list goes on. I recently purchased a Fidget Spinner Anxiety Attention Toy ( link to toy, http://amzn.to/2qed5at ) for him in hopes that maybe it will help with his inability yo sit still during class.

    1. I think a lot of people still do not believe that ADHD is a true diagnosis until they have experienced it themselves. I don’t think you are alone in that. The decision to medicate is an incredibly tough one, and not to be taken lighly. I have seen people have great success with it, and have one friend who after three different medications have not had any luck with it. She has put her son in Karate to see if that helps. Our daughter has found her sweet spot ( at least for now) with the first medication we have tried. We feel blessed that this seems to be working for now after increasing the dose a couple of times. It will be a constant trouble and I still struggle with getting frustrated with her, even though I know most of he time it is not her fault.. sigh…

Leave a Reply

